CHIEF OFFICERS OF THE PUBLIC SERVICE.

Clerk of the Privy Council, JOHN JOSEPH MCGEE. Clerk of the Senate, EDOUARD JOSEPH LANGEVIN, N.P. Clerk of the House of Commons, JOHN GEORGE BOURINOT, C.M.G., LL.D., D.C.L Governor General's Secretary, DAVID ERSKINE. Auditor General, JOHN LOBN MCDOUGALL, C.M.G., M.A.

Deputy Heads of Departments.

Deputy of the Minister of Militia and Defence, Colonel CHARLES EUGENE PANET. Deputy of the Minister of Finance, JOHN MORTIMER COURTNEY, C.M.G. Commissioner of Inland Revenue, EDWARD MIALL.

Deputy of the Minister of Public Works, ANTOINE GOBEIL.

Queen's Printer and Controller of Stationery, SAMUEL EDWARD DAWSON, Lit.D., F.R.S.C.

Deputy of the Minister of Railways and Canals, Collingwood Schreiber, C.M.G., C.E.

Deputy of the Minister of Trade and Commerce, WILLIAM GRANNIS PARMELEE.

Deputy of the Minister of Justice, EDMUND LESLIE NEWCOMBE, Q.C.

Comptroller of the North-west Mounted Police Force, FREDERICK WHITE.

Director of the Geological Survey, George Mercer Dawson, C.M.G., LL.D., F.R.S.

Deputy of the Minister of Agriculture and Statistics, WILLIAM BAIN SCARTH.

Under-Secretary of State, JOSEPH POPE.

Deputy Minister of Marine and Fisheries, FRANÇOIS FREDERIC GOURDEAU.

Deputy of the Minister of the Interior and of the Superintendent General of Indian Affairs, JAMES A. SMART.

Deputy Postmaster-General, ROBERT MILLER COULTER, M.D.

vii