events were run off gave ample proof of the careful planning by Inspr. H. G. Nichols, Officer Commanding "N" Division, and his staff.

Feature of the day was the "N" Division Musical Ride, which had been in training for several months under instruction of S/Sgt. C. W. Anderson in preparation for subsequent appearances at St. Louis, Mo., Indianapolis, Ind., the Ottawa Winter Fair, New York City, and the Royal Winter Fair, Toronto.

A march past by the RCMP band under direction of Sub-Inspr. E. J. Lydall, LTCL, ATCM, and the Musical Ride commanded by Sub-Inspr. E. H. Stevenson, MBE, with the Commissioner taking the salute, officially opened the show.

The program proper got underway when the Musical Ride swung into its rhythmic routine. This spectacular display of horsemanship drew rounds of applause from the audience, whose open enthusiasm reflected the credit due the members of the troup and their instructor.

Similarly entertaining were the mounted contests, novelty events and musical selections by the band, all of which contributed to make the remainder of the afternoon a wholly pleasant and enjoyable one.

In addition to individual trophies, two major ones attracted the attention of the competitors. The Rosenkrantz Trophy -donated by a former member of the Force, Baron Rosenkrantz, and awarded yearly to the NCO or constable who renders the best display of horsemanship at "N" Division—was won by Cst. A. B. Ewen. The Major Richard R. Vincent Trophy, given annually to the winners of the half-section jumping event, was won by Csts. G. H. Slykuis and A. B. Ewen. Major Vincent, who is greatly interested in the Force, flew from his home in New York City with his young daughter to attend the sports show, and personally presented his trophy and souvenirs to the winners.

Commr. S. T. Wood presented the prizes at the conclusion of the program and congratulated the members of the Ride on their appearance and skilful horsemanship.

Refreshments were served afterwards in the "N" Division Mess. All in all, everyone had a good time, and there seems to be little doubt that the "N" Division Mounted Sports Day left its mark in the memory of participants and spectators alike, as an outstanding one in the history of the division.

Summary of the events, and the list of winners as judged by Supt. J. F. Thrasher and ex-Sgts. A. S. Wilson and C. F. Johnstone, follow:

INDIVIDUAL JUMPING

1. Cst. P. J. Maguire

2. Cst. F. Reimer

Individual Tentpegging (Lance)

Cst. A. B. Ewen
Cst. R. J. Schrader

Individual Tentpegging (Sword)

1. Cst. R. Camm

2. Cst. A. B. Ewen

HALF SECTION JUMPING

- 1. Cst. G. H. Slykhuis and Cst. A. B. Ewen
- 2. Cpl. D. A. Hadfield and Cst. E. C. Hill

Section Tentpegging (Sword)

- 1. Cpl. D. A. Hadfield, Csts. R. Camm, A. B. Ewen, R. J. Schrader
- 2. Csts. E. C. Hill, J. F. Friend, L. J. Johnston, V. D. R. Wilson

POST & BALL RACE

- 1. Cst. A. E. Billett
- 2. Cst. E. W. Comeau

MUSICAL CHAIRS

- 1. Cst. A. W. Eyolfson
- 2. Cst. L. D. Libke

WHEELBARROW RACE

Cst. C. P. Kokott and Miss Shirley Martin

BAREBACK WRESTLING

Blue Team—Captained by Cst. G. T. McFarlan

BALACLAVA MELEE

Green Team—Captained by Cst. J. H. Clark