MINUTES OF PROCEDURE

House of Commons,

Tuesday, March 5, 1929.

The committee came to order at 10.30 o'clock a.m., Mr. Power presiding.

Members present: Messrs. Anderson, Bancroft, Bird, Black, Bothwell, Boys, Dussault, Girouard, Kellner, Kennedy, Ladner, Laflamme, Lapierre, MacDonald, McPherson, Power, Ralston, Senn, St-Père, Sanderson.

Mr. E. E. Pelletier and Mr. Byron Baker representing the Railway Transportation Brotherhoods, appeared before the committee and advocated amendments to the Dominion Elections Act in respect to Advance Polls (see Appendix hereto).

Mr. T. E. Kaiser, M.P., was called and gave the committee data in respect to the compulsory voting system obtaining in the Commonwealth of Australia.

Mr. Kaiser and Mr. Boys, members of the committee, were appointed to draft amendments to the Act with respect to this subject matter.

Mr. Jules Castonguay, Chief Electoral Officer, was called and filed the Report of the Chief Electoral Officer, dated December 1, 1926.

The witness upon examination expressed his views as to the proper method of appointing returning officers and was requested to draft amendments in accordance therewith, for submission to the committee.

Witness also to prepare and file a statement of the number of returning officers at the last general election who held the office of sheriff in their respective provinces.

Mr. E. E. Stockton of the Office of the Auditor General was called and questioned as to the nature of complaints of returning officers in respect to fees and other remuneration.

Proposed amendments to the Act were filed by Mr. Neill, M.P., and ordered printed in the Appendix to the Proceedings and Evidence.

On motion of Mr. Boys the chairman was instructed to report to the House a recommendation that the quorum of the committee be reduced from fifteen members to nine members. Carried.

On motion of Mr. McPherson the committee adjourned till 4 o'clock p.m. Thursday the 7th inst., when Mr. O. M. Biggar, formerly Chief Electoral Officer will attend.

A. A. FRASER, Clerk of Committee.