E. W. BEATTY, K.C. CHAIRMAN



J. M. MACDONNELL, VICE CHAIRMAN ROY CAMPBELL, HON. SECRETARY 1155 BEAVER HALL SQUARE TEL. LANCASTER 7161

NATIONAL COUNCIL OF EDUCATION MONTREAL COMMITTEE

November 16, 1929.

Dear Sir or Madam;-

As you are doubtless aware, for a considerable time past a series of efforts has been made to establish a Little Theatre in Montreal, but for one reason or another,—due mainly, perhaps, to lack of complete cooperation between the various bodies interested—these efforts have not been crowned with success.

With the presence in Montreal of Sir Barry Jackson, the famous head of the Birmingham Repertory Theatre in England, an opportunity presents itself of which the National Council of Education is anxious the public of Montreal who are interested in the establishment of a Little Theatre should take advantage.

It has therefore been arranged to hold a meeting in the Victoria Hall, Westmount, on Saturday evening, November 23rd, at 8.15, to be addressed by Sir Barry Jackson, who will tell the audience how a Little Theatre is organized.

The meeting will be under the distinguished patronage of:-

Hon. Athanase and Madame David
General Sir Arthur and Lady Currie
Lord and Lady Atholstan
The Hon. Marguerite Shaughnessy
Sir Montagu and Lady Allan
Sir Henry and Lady Thornton
Mr. Justice E. Fabre Surveyer
Rev. Canon Allan Shatford
F. E. Meredith, K.C.
Professor F. E. Lloyd
Mr. and Mrs. Cecil Gordon
John Bassett, Esq.
Brooke Claxton, Esq.
Adjutor Savard, Esq.
P. S. Stevenson, Esq.
T. T. McG. Stoker, Esq.

As the active and united cooperation of every amateur organization in this city and district is essential if any Little Theatre movement is to be carried to a successful issue, it is earnestly desired that you should attend this meeting, and take part in the discussion that will follow the address of Sir Barry.

The first hour of the meeting Sir Barry has very kindly consented to devote to a reading of his exquisite translation of "The Marvellous History of Saint Bernard."

Admission is free and this circular should be regarded as an invitation to you to attend.

Martha Allan, Warwick F. Chipman, J. Murray Gibbon, Cyrus MacMillan, Andrew Macphail, S. Morgan Powell, B. K. Sandwell, J. M. Macdonnell, Chairman pro tem. Roy Campbell, Secretary pro tem.

Provisional Committee.