And more than five members having risen:

Madam Speaker: Call in the members.

[English]

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Pinard), which was agreed to on the following division:

• (1540)

(Division No. 16)

YEAS

Messrs.

Appolloni (Mrs.) Duquet Erola (Mrs.) Axworth Ethier Bachand Evans Baker Fergusor (Gander-Twillingate) Fisher Beauchamp-Niquet Fleming (Mrs.) Blais Foster Bloomfield Fox Bockstael Frith Garant Bossy Breau Gauthier Bujold Gendron Gimaïel Bussières Caccia Gingras Campbell Gourd (Miss) Gray (South West Nova) Guilbault Campbell Harquail (LaSalle) Henderson Chénier Herbert Hervieux-Payette Chrétien Collenette (Mrs.) Hopkins Corbin Hudecki Corriveau Cosgrove Côté (Mrs.) Irwin Isabelle Cousineau Johnston Cullen Joval Kaplan Daudlin Kelly Killens (Mrs.) Dawson De Bané Lachance de Corneille Lajoie Demers Lamontagne Desmarais Landers Dingwall Lang Laniel (Portneuf) Lapierre Lapointe (Chicoutimi) (Charlevoix) Dionne Lapointe (Northumberland-(Beauce) LeBlanc Miramichi) Dubois Leduc Duclos Loiselle

MacEachen MacGuigan Mackasey MacLaren MacI ellan Maltais Marceau Massé Masters McCauley McRae Munro (Hamilton East) Nichols (Miss) Olivier Ostiguy Ouellet Parent Pelletier Penner Pepin Pinard Prud'ho Regan Reid (Kenora-Rainy River) Roberts Robinson (Etobicoke-Lakeshore) Rompkey Rossi Roy Savard Schroder Simmo Smith Stollery Tardif Tessier Tobin Tousignant Trudeau Turner Veillette Watson Weatherhead Whelan Yanakis-

NAYS

Messrs.

Althouse Baker (Nepean-Carleton) Beatty Benjamin Blenkarn Bosley Bradley

Dupont Dupras

Broadbent
Cardiff
Carney (Miss)
Clark
(Yellowhead)

(Vancouver Quadra)

Lonsdale

MacBain

Coates

Cooper Cossitt Crombie Crosbie (St. John's West) Crouse Dantzer

Cook

The Constitution

Messrs.

Darling Keeper Deans de Jong Kempling Kilgour King Dinsdale Knowles Domm Kushner Elzinga La Salle Epp Fennell Lewis MacKay Fretz Malone Friesen Manly Fulton Mayer Mazankowski Gamble Gass McCain Gilchrist McCuish McDermid Greenaway Gustafson McGrath Halliday McKenzie Hamilton McKinno (Qu'Appelle-Moose McKnight Mountain) McLean McMillan (Swift Current-Maple Miller Creek) Mitchell Hargrave (Mrs.) Hawkes Mitges Munro Hees Hnatyshyn (Esquimalt-Saanich) Murta

Robinson (Burnaby) Roche Rose Sargeant Schellenberger Scott (Hamilton-Wentworth) Scott (Victoria-Haliburton) Shields Siddon Skelly Speyer Stewart Taylor Thacker Thomson Vankoughnet Waddell Wenman Wilson Wright Young Yurko—112

Nystrom

Oberle

Orlikow

Patterson

Ogle

Rae

Jewett (Miss)

• (1610)

Hovdebo Howie

Jarvis

Jelinek

Madam Speaker: I declare the motion carried.

Neil

Nickerson

Nielsen

Nowlan

GOVERNMENT ORDERS

[English]

THE CONSTITUTION

ESTABLISHMENT OF SPECIAL JOINT COMMITTEE OF THE SENATE AND HOUSE OF COMMONS

The House resumed, from Tuesday, October 21, consideration of the motion of the Minister of Justice and Minister of State for Social Development (Mr. Chrétien):

That a Special Joint Committee of the Senate and of the House of Commons be appointed to consider and report upon the document entitled "Proposed Resolution for a Joint Address to Her Majesty the Queen respecting the Constitution of Canada" published by the government on October 2, 1980, and to recommend in their report whether or not such an address, with such amendments as the committee considers necessary, should be presented by both Houses of Parliament to Her Majesty the Queen;

That 15 members of the House of Commons to be designated no later than three sitting days after the adoption of this motion be members on the part of this House of the Special Joint Committee;

That the committee have power to appoint from among its members such subcommittees as may be deemed advisable and necessary and to delegate to such subcommittees all or any of their powers except the power to report directly to the House;

That the committee have power to sit during sittings and adjournments of the House of Commons;

That the committee have power to send for persons, papers and records, and to examine witnesses and to print such papers and evidence from day to day as may be ordered by the committee;

That the committee submit their report not later than December 9, 1980;

That the quorum of the committee be 12 members, whenever a vote, resolution or other decision is taken, so long as both Houses are represented and that the joint chairmen be authorized to hold meetings, to receive evidence and