The regular research staff of the Committee was fully employed. The Director of the Research staff, Basil Zafiriou, an economist, is from the Library of Parliament and is on assignment to the Committee. Also from the Library of Parliament is Richard Domingue, an economist, who has worked for the Committee in this Parliament as well as in the last Parliament.

The Committee was further assisted by Sean Aylward, Barrister and Solicitor. Mr. Aylward holds a Master of Laws degree in tax and trade law from the London School of Economics and is a Member of the Bar of Ontario. Mr. Aylward also worked as a Counsel to the Committee during its study in 1987 on Part I of tax reform.

All of the members of this Committee, even those members from political parties who would not perhaps on their own approve of a Goods and Services Tax, worked diligently to solve the problems presented in the Technical Paper. This report reflects the mature and considered judgment of all Committee members.

From the New Democratic Party, the Committee had the assistance of Lorne Nystrom, Member of Parliament for Yorkton-Melville, Saskatchewan. Mr. Nystrom is a House of Commons veteran and is the Finance critic for the New Democratic Party. Assisting him was Jack Whittaker, Member of Parliament for Okanagan-Similkameen-Merritt, British Columbia. Mr. Whittaker was, prior to being elected, a barrister and solicitor.

From the Liberal Party, the Committee had the services of Douglas Young, Member of Parliament for Gloucester, New Brunswick. Mr. Young is the associate Finance critic for the Liberal Party. He is the former Minister of Fisheries in the New Brunswick Legislature. Assisting Mr. Young was Jerry Pickard, Member of Parliament for Essex-Kent, Ontario. Mr. Pickard is a former school teacher. Also assisting was Diane Marleau, Member of Parliament for Sudbury, Ontario who made important representations regarding child care that were accepted by the Committee. Mrs. Marleau is a former Regional Chairman for the District of Sudbury. Alfonso Gagliano, Member of Parliament for Saint-Léonard, Québec, the Liberal critic for Small Business, also assisted. Mr. Gagliano was first elected to the House of Commons in the general election in 1984.

From time to time, the Liberal Party had the services of John Manley, Member of Parliament for Ottawa South, Ontario. Mr. Manley is a lawyer and he added considerably to the Committee's deliberations.

From the Progressive Conservative Party, the Committee had the service of Murray Dorin, Member of Parliament for Edmonton Northwest, Alberta. Mr. Dorin has been a member of the Committee since 1984 and is the Committee's Vice-Chairman. Mr. Dorin is a chartered accountant with extensive business experience.

In addition, the P.C. Party had the assistance of William Attewell, Member of Parliament for Markham, Ontario. Mr. Attewell has been a member of the Committee since 1984. He is a former executive with Guaranty Trust in Toronto.