The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Honourable Mitchell Sharp, announced that Mr. Napoléon LeBlanc, Canadian member of UNESCO's Executive Board and past chairman of the Canadian Commission for UNESCO, will preside over the Canadian delegation at the 17th Session of the General Conference of the United Nations Organization for Education, Science and Culture (UNESCO). The two vice-presidents will be the Honourable G. L. Bennett, Minister of Education of Prince Edward Island, and Mr. J.-L. Gagnon, Canadian Ambassador and Permanent Delegate to UNESCO.

This conference, which is convened every two years will be held at the permanent headquarters of UNESCO in Paris from October 17 to November 18, 1972. Representatives from over one hundred and twenty-five countries will discuss the two-year and the five-year programmes of UNESCO in such fields as education, exact and natural sciences, social science, humanities, culture and communications.

The following persons will also be members of the Canadian delegation:

Delegates:

Mr. H. Walker, Deputy Minister, Department of Colleges and Universities of Ontario.

Dr. J. M. Harrison, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Department of Energy, Mines and Resources.

Alternates:

Dr. Cyril Belshaw, Professor of Anthropology, University of British Columbia, Member of Social Science Research Council.

Dr. L. H. Cragg, President, Mount Allison University, Chairman, Canadian Commission for UNESCO.

Mr. John H. Dinsmore, Associate Deputy Minister, Department of Education of Quebec.

Mr. Jules Léger, Under-Secretary of State, Secretary of State Department.

Mr. Jacques Gignac, Canadian Ambassador to Lebanon, Department of External Affairs.

Advisers:

Mr. David Bartlett, Secretary-General, Canadian Commission for UNESCO.

Dr. Maurice Richer, Secretary-General, Council of Ministers of Education, Canada.