4. International Court of Justice

The International Court of Justice was established by the Charter as the principal judicial organ of the United Nations. It replaced the Permanent Court of International Justice, which had borne a similar relationship to the League of Nations. The Court consists of 15 judges elected by the General Assembly and the Security Council from a list of nominees submitted by national groups; their term of office runs for nine years and they are eligible for re-election. Although the judges are to be elected "regardless of their nationality", the main forms of civilization and the principal legal systems of the world are to be represented.

Parties to the Statute of the Court include all members of the United Nations and three other national entities: Liechtenstein, San Marino, and Switzerland. They are not obliged to submit to the Court legal disputes with other states unless they have submitted to the compulsory jurisdiction of the Court by a declaration filed pursuant to Article 36 of its Statute or have done so for particular classes of dispute in treaties and other international agreements. Thirty-seven countries, including Canada, have filed declarations of acceptance of compulsory jurisdiction of the Court, with or without reservations of various kinds.

The present judges of the Court, with the year of expiry of their term of office, are:

Name	Country	Year of Expiry
Name Ricardo J. Alfaro (Vice-President) Abdel Hamid Badawi Jules Basdevant José Luis Bustamante y Rivero Roberto Cordova Sir Gerald Fitzmaurice Philip C. Jessup V. K. Wellington Koo Vladimir M. Koretsky Gaetano Morelli Lucio M. Moreno Quintana Sir Percy Spender	Country Panama United Arab Republic France Peru Mexico Britain United States China U.S.S.R. Italy Argentina Australia Greece	Year of Expiry 1964 1967 1964 1970 1964 1970 1967 1970 1964 1967
Jean Spiropoulos Kotaro Tanaka Bohdan Winiarski (President)	Japan Poland	1970 1967

5. List of Secretaries-General

Names	Terms of Office
Trygve Lie	. February 1, 1946-April 9, 1953
Dag Hammarskjold	April 10, 1953-September 18, 1961
U Thant	Acting Secretary-General, November 3, 1961-November 30, 1962
	Elected Secretary-General on November 30, 1962, until November 3, 1966.