

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

communiqué

No:

42

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE APRIL 27, 1983

SIGNATURE OF CANADA-KENYA DOUBLE TAXATION AGREEMENT

The Honourable Gerald Regan, Minister of State (International Trade), announced today that Canada and Kenya have signed a Double Taxation Agreement. Mr. Regan signed the Agreement on behalf of Canada while Kenya's Finance Minister, Arthur Kinyanjui Magugu, signed on behalf of Kenya.

Agreements for the avoidance of double taxation are treaties which provide tax relief for companies and individuals operating in the other country. They are designed to ensure that income earned is not subject to double taxation.

Since 1971, Canada has been extending its double taxation agreements with other countries. To date, double taxation treaties are in force with 32 countries and today's signing brings to eight the number that have been signed but are not yet in force. Canada is currently negotiating similar agreements with several other countries.

While in Ottawa, Mr. Magugu also held discussions with senior officials of the Department of External Affairs and the Canadian International Development Agency. His four-day visit to Canada also included stops in Montreal and Toronto.