3. FRANCE AND EUROPE

France is part of the European Economic Community (EEC or EC). The EEC comprises twelve countries: France, Great Britain, West Germany, Italy, Spain, Portugal, the Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, Denmark, Ireland and Greece. East Germany is expected to soon join the EEC as part of a united Germany. It is noteworthy that while Switzerland, Norway, Austria, Finland, the Faeroe Islands, Iceland and Greenland do not belong to the EEC, they have entered into a number of economic agreements with the Community.

The economic integration of the EEC has reached an advanced stage. Fishing policy (quotas, fishing zones, price guidelines) is European. There are no tariffs within the EEC; all member countries apply the same customs duties on all imports from countries outside the EEC. All imported products are classified in accordance with a unified description and tariff system. Reduced-rate import quotas are also managed by the EEC.

Harmonization is under way in the areas of labelling requirements and inspection procedures designed to ensure that food products offered for sale are fit for human consumption. It should be understood that 1 January 1993 is not, in and of itself, a date on which everything is going to change in the EEC. There are many common rules already in effect, others which will be applied between now and 1993, and still others which, in all likelihood, will not yet have been harmonized by 1993.