### The Church Temperance Societies and Unions.

Are important factors in this great Moral Reform. Catholics and Protestants of all names are working by means of societies within their own borders; and many of the active supporters of church societies are leaders of the above named organizations.

St. Patrick's H. C. T. A. and B. Society.

President, Rev Dr Murphy; Vice-President, P J McManus; Asst Vice-President, Wm Hopewell; Secretary, H F Heenan; Assistant Secretary, J Foley,; Treasurer, D Carroll; Marshal, Wm Downey; Board of Trustees, J Bell, D Gallivan, J J Murphy, D P Sullivan, J Connell and T P Mulcahy. Stewards, John Delaney, north district; Michael Coolen, central district; J Train, south district. Auditors, J J Hopewell, J J O'Connell and A Norcotte.

## St. Mary's Young Men's T. A. and B. Society.

Spiritual Director, Rev Dr Foley; President, Thomas Brown; Vice-President, James Flannigan; Asst Vice-President, Richard Saxon; Secretary, Fred Smith; Assist Secretary, Joseph Carey; Treasurer, W B Mahoney; Financial Secretary, Charles Blagdon; Asst Financial Secretary, Geo Swaine; Marshal, Dominick Haley; Librarian, James Callighan; Chairman Room Committee, J P English; Secretary Room Committee, William Keating; Investigating Committee, J P English, R Saxon, F Metzler, Joseph Purcell and Chas McCarthy; Auditors, J R Rawley, James L Gowen and Joseph Purcell; Library Committee, A McNeil, P J Hanifen, J J O'Connor, Fred P Metzler, Jas L Gowen, Jno Beli, D Galvan.

### St. Patrick's Juvenile T. A. and B. Society.

Vice-President, Thos Mulcahy; Asst Vice-President, Frank Grant; Secretary, Richard Whebby; Assistant Secretary, Arthur O'Brien; Treasurer, Frank Condon; Marshal, William Pitts.

#### St. Peter't C. T. A. and B. Society, Dartmouth.

Spiritual Director, Rev C Underwood; President, G C Kingston; Vice-President, Wm Brennan; Asst Vice, Andrew Cleary; Treasurer, John Greene; Rec Secretary, Jos W Tierney; Financial Secretary, John P Donavan; Sec'y-Treasurer of room, J W Murphy; Marshal, G A Kennedy. Meets 4th Sunday of month. Founded Nov 22nd, 1855. Incorporated April, 1889.

## W. C. T. Union.

President, Mrs S E Whiston; Vice Presidents Mrs Lessell, Mrs Dr Saunders, Mrs Geo H Starr, Mrs St George Twining; Treasurer, Mrs R Baxter; Cor Secretary, Miss Hawkins; Rec Secretary, Miss T Cunningham.

Meetings every second Friday.

Mothers meetings are held every alternate Friday, at W. C. T. U. Building, corner Sackville and Granville Streets. The juvenile work is under superintendence of Miss Clark and Miss Saunders. Loyal Legion meets every Thursday in Mission Hall, Albermarle Street.

# BENEVOLENT AND OTHER SOCIETIES.

#### Irish Parliamentary Fund.

Chairman, Dr Edward Farrell; Treasurer, Thos E Kenny, M P; Secretary, Joseph D Murphy.

# Metal Workers' Trades Union and Benefit Society of Nova Scotin.

President, Edward Phelan; 1st Vice-President, John Short; 2nd Vice-President, John Davis; Recording Secretary, T W Toumey; Assistant Secretary, W H Walsh; Financial Secretary, R W Saxon; Asst Financial Sec'y, Robt

Morris John ( R Lon M Cole T Hog

Houlih
—P To
mitteeJ Coffe

tary, V Scott; Francis the Un

Mrs M Secreta mitteebourne, Chipma

Pre aghan. and W

P M Gunning Halliday J A Ca

Hesslei Lo

MV

man. R Forsyth. Ayers. Mee Street.

Presiden cellor—J Trustees Wm B V