The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Honourable Donald C. Jamieson, announced today the composition of the Canadian Delegation to the 31st Regular Session of the United Nations General Assembly, which convened at United Nations Headquarters, New York, on Tuesday, September 21. Mr. Jamieson will be the Chairman of the Delegation. The other members will be:

Mr. William Barton

Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Canada to the United Nations, New York

Parliamentary Secretary to the Secretary of State for External Affairs

The Honourable R. D. Stanbury

Member of Parliament

Mr. Charles Lapointe

Member of Parliament

Mr. Harry Jay

Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Canada to the Office of the United

Nations, Geneva

Miss Sylva Gelber

Special Adviser to the Deputy Minister

of Labour

Mr. Geoffrey Bruce

Deputy Permanent Representative and

Minister.

Permanent Mission of Canada to the

United Nations, New York

Mr. Jacques Gignac

Ambassador of Canada to Tunisia

Mr. Maurice D. Copithorne

Director General,

Bureau of Legal Affairs,

Department of External Affairs

Advisers will be provided by the Department of External Affairs and by other Departments as required.