The question is on the amendment. Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the amendment?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Some Hon. Members: No.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Charest): All those in favour of the amendment will please say yea.

Some Hon. Members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Charest): All those opposed will please say nay.

Some Hon. Members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Charest): In my opinion, the nays have it.

And more than five Members having risen:

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Charest): Call in the Members.

Before the taking of the vote:

[English]

Mr. Speaker: Before we proceed to the vote on the amendment, with the consent of the House I am going to try to explain the procedure we are going to follow. We are now dealing with an amendment to the main motion. Therefore, I have some assumptions about who may be voting in favour of the amendment. Given that assumption, the vote will begin with the Right Hon. Leader of Her Majesty's Opposition (Mr. Turner). We will then proceed in the normal way with that Party, starting with the Hon. Member closest to me.

Making an assumption for the moment about a potential other Party's interest, we will begin again with the Leader of the New Democratic Party and we will then proceed from the front bench to the back bench. If that Party were to vote against the amendment, we would deal with it after we have dealt with the Government.

Now we get to the complicated part. We will begin with the Deputy Prime Minister (Mr. Nielsen). We will then proceed as is normal, starting with the Member closest to myself on the front bench, then continuing with Members on the second bench, the third bench, etc. We will then proceed-

Some Hon. Members: Hear, hear!

Mr. Speaker: You should try to figure out how the Clerk Assistant feels! We will then begin with the opposition Member closest to me on this side and we will call out the names of all the Members on the front bench voting that way. We will do the same with all the Members on the second bench voting that way, etc.

An Hon. Member: Would you say that again?

Mr. Speaker: I wonder if everyone would accept that I have said that twice?

The House divided on the amendment (Mr. Turner (Vancouver Quadra)) which was negatived on the following division:

The Address-Mr. M. Tremblay (Division No. 1)

YEAS

Allmand Althouse Gagliano Angus Gauthier Axworthy Baker Reniamin Heap Henderson Blaikie Broadbent Chrétien Hopkins Deans Hovdebo Jewett (Ms.) de Corneille Keeper Dingwall Langdon MacLellan Epp (Thunder Bay-Nipigon) Malépart Manly McCurdy

Finestone (Mrs.)

Foster Frith

Mitchell (Ms.) Nunziata Nystrom Gray (Windsor West) Guilbault Orlikow Quellet Parry (Saint-Jacques) Penne Pépin (Mrs.) Prud'homm Riis Robichaud Rodriguez Rompkey Rossi Skelly Tobin Turner (Vancouver Quadra) McDonald (Ms.)

Waddell (Broadview-Greenwood) Young-54.

Mazankowski

McCain

McCrossan

McDermid

McCuish

NAVS

Andre Attewell Beatty Belsher Bernier Binns Bissonnette Blais-Grenier (Mrs.) Blenkarn Blouin (Mrs.) Boyer Bradley Brightwell Brisco Browes (Mrs.) Cadieux Caldwell

Cardiff Carney (Miss) Champagne (Champlain) Charest Chartrand Clark (Yellowhead) Clark (Brandon-Souris) Clifford Clinch Coates Cochrane Collins (Mrs.) Cook Cooper Corbett Cossitt (Mrs.)

(Lac-Saint-Jean) Crombie Crosbie (St. John's West) Crosby (Halifax West) Crouse Darling Daubney de Cotret Della Noce Desjardins Domm

Duguay Duplessis (Mrs.) Elzinga Epp (Provencher) Fennell Ferland Fontaine Forrestall Fraleigh Fretz Friesen Gagnon Gass Gérin Gervais Girard Gottselie Graham Gravel (Bonaventure-Îles-dela-Madeleine)

Grisé Guilbault (Drummond) Gurbin Gustafson Halliday Hamilton Hardey Harvey Hicks Hnatyshyn Hockin Holtmann Horner Howie Hudon James Jelinek Jepson Joncas Jourdenais Kempling Kindy King Ladouceur Landry (Mrs.) La Salle Layton Lebland Lewis Lopez MacDonald (Miss) (Kingston and

the Islands) MacDougall

(Timiskaming)

MacKay

Malone

Marin

Masse

Mayer

Mailly (Mrs.)

Martin (Mrs.)

McDougall (Mrs.) (St. Paul's) McGrath McInnes McKenzie McKinnon McKnight Merrithew Minaker Moore Murta (Niagara Falls) Nickerson Nielsen Nowlan O'Neil Oostrom Paproski Pennock Pietz Plourde Price Redway Reimer Ricard St. Germain St-Julien Schellenberg (Nanaimo-Alberni) Schellenberger (Wetaskiwin)

(Victoria-Haliburton) (Hamilton-Wentworth) Scowen Shields Siddon Sparrov (Mrs.) Spever Stackhouse Stevens Tardif (Mrs.) (Charlesbourg) Taylor Thacker Towers Tremblay (Québec-Est) Tremblay (Lotbinière)

(Ottawa-Carleton)