Mr. MacEachen: What I was saying is that I have full confidence that no government would use this route to improperly effect increases for Members of Parliament. The question I raised was whether our critics might not say that a certain bargain may have been influenced by the fact that Members of Parliament might need a raise or might welcome a raise. If we can remove that possible criticism, then we would search for that kind of formula.

Mr. Lewis: May I ask the President of the Privy Council (Mr. MacEachen) a question in order to clarify this matter? Is it not true that bargaining is not done by members of the government but, rather, by the top civil servants on the staff of the President of the Treasury Board (Mr. Drury), and that the top civil servants are as much affected by increases that might be given to the bargaining unit because eventually, as sometimes happens, everyone else might be? Is it not true that that is the point which the President of the Privy Council should have in mind, that it is not bargaining between Members of Parliament and bargaining units but, rather, between senior civil servants and the bargaining unit?

Mr. MacEachen: It is quite true, but in the final analysis the stamp of approval and the responsibility for any final bargaining must be taken by the Treasury Board, by members of the government. That is the point I have been making. I am delighted to sense that perhaps my fears in that direction were not as well-founded as I had thought earlier.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Is the House ready for the question?

Some hon. Members: Question.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: In my opinion the yeas have it. And more than five members having risen:

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Call in the members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. MacEachen) which was agreed to on the following division.

• (9:50 p.m.)

# YEAS

# Messrs:

Allmand Boulanger Andras Breau Badanai Buchanan Baldwin Cafik Barrett Carter Béchard Clermont Beer Cobbe Bell Comtois Blair Corriveau Blouin Crossman Borrie

# Division

### Messrs:

Marchand Crouse (Kamloops-Cariboo) Cyr Danson Marshall Éthier Monteith Fairweather Moore Faulkner Munro Forest Murphy Forget Murta Nesbitt Foster Gendron Noble Gervais Noël Gibson O'Connell Gilbert Olson Gillespie Orange Guay (St. Boniface) Osler Guay (Lévis) Ouellet Paproski Guilbault Peddle Hales Hopkins Pepin Howe Portelance Isabelle Prud'homme Jerome Reid Kaplan Richard Lachance Ryan Laing Smith (Vancouver South) (Northumberland-Lambert Miramichi) (Edmonton West) Smith (Saint-Jean) Lang (Saskatoon-Stanbury Humboldt) Stanfield Laniel Sulatycky Leblanc (Laurier) Thomas Lefebvre (Maisonneuve-Lessard (LaSalle) Rosemont) Loiselle Thomas (Moncton) Lundrigan Thompson (Red Deer) MacEachen Tolmie Mackasey Trudel MacLean Turner (London East) McBride Turner (Ottawa-Carleton) McCleave Wahn McCutcheon Walker McIlraith Watson Weatherhead McIntosh McNulty Whiting Major Woolliams Marceau Yewchuk-109.

# NAYS

# Messrs:

Beaudoin Laprise Benjamin Latulippe Brewin Lewis Broadbent Mather Burton Matte Caquette Nystrom Dionne Orlikow Douglas Peters Fortin Rodrigue Gauthier Rose Gleave Rowland Godin Saltsman Howard (Skeena) Schumacher Knowles (Winnipeg Skoberg North Centre) Tétrault Lambert Thomson

(Bellechasse)

• (10:10 p.m.)

Marchand (Langelier)

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion carried.

Motion agreed to, bill read the second time and referred to the Standing Committee on Procedure and Organization.

(Battleford-Kindersley)-31.