On July 12, 1940, Hon. Angus L. Macdonald became the first Canadian Minister for the Navy.

Previously, Naval Services had been looked after by the Minister of National Defence. One Deputy Minister had occupied himself with both Navy and Air Force until March, 1940, when he devoted all his time to the Navy. With the organization of the new Department of National Defence (Naval Services) this man (Lt.-Col. K.S. McLachlan) continued as the Naval Deputy Minister. He resigned his position in November of 1941, to go on active service with the R.C.N. as a Lieutenant Commander, and was succeeded by the present Deputy Minister, Mr. W.G. Mills.

A Naval Board was set up on January 22, 1942. Until this time the Chief of the Naval Staff was responsible for details of training, operation and equipment. The Board acts in an advisory capacity to the Minister of Naval Service, and is responsible for general naval policy.

The structure of the Canadian Naval Board roughly corresponds to the British Board of Admiralty, and its memebers to the British Sea Lords.

Members of the Board:

Minister

Honourable Angus L. Macdonald

Deputy Minister

W.G. Mills (Financial & Civil Member)

Chief of the Naval Staff

Vice-Admiral P.W. Nelles, C.B. (First Naval Member) Vice-Chief of the Naval Staff

Rear-Admiral G.C. Jones (Second Naval Member) Chief of Naval Personnel

Capt. E.R. Mainguy (Third Naval Member)

Chief of Naval Equipment and Supply

Capt. G.M. Hibbard (Fourth Naval Member)