reaffirmation by the United States of its aim of establishing a territorial legislature by 1965. With regard to economic development, the Council, while expressing pleasure that the Territory had been opened to United States investment capital, hoped for still greater efforts to stimulate economic development and recommended the drafting of a long-term economic plan. The Council noted that the inhabitants have no fully-matured opinions on the future of Micronesia but that the United States was committed to the unity and territorial integrity of the Territory and was willing to consider a range of options for the eventual status of the Territory, including independence.

International Court of Justice

The International Court of Justice, the principal judicial organ of the United Nations, replaced the Permanent Court of International Justice, the judicial organ of the League of Nations. It was established in 1945 by the Charter of the United Nations and its Statute is annexed to the Charter, of which it forms an integral part. The parties of the Statute include all members of the United Nations and three other national entities: Liechtenstein, San Marino and Switzerland. The parties are not obliged to refer to the Court their legal disputes with other states unless they have submitted to the compulsory jurisdiction of the Court by filing a declaration pursuant to Article 36 of the Statute or have agreed to do so in treaties or other international agreements. Thirty-nine countries, including Canada, have filed declarations with or without reservations.

The Court consists of 15 independent judges¹ elected for nine-year terms by the General Assembly and the Security Council from a list of nominees submitted to the Secretary-General by "national groups" in the Permanent Court of Arbitration or by "national groups" similarly appointed. Although they are to be elected "regardless of their nationality", the main forms of civilization and the principal legal systems of the world are to be represented. No positions on the bench fell vacant in 1964. There are no Canadian judges serving on the Court at present, though Judge John E. Read of Canada was a member from 1946 to 1958. The President and Vice-President of the Court are elected for three-year terms and take precedence over the other judges. In March 1964, Sir Percy Spender of Australia was elected President and Dr. V. K. Wellington Koo of China as Vice President.

During 1964, the Court considered the South West Africa cases and the Barcelona Traction case.

¹ See Appendix II (6) for a list of the judges.