NEWFOUNDLAND.

Supreme Court of Indicature for Aewfoundland.

Having jurisdiction in Law and Equity, and as a Vice-Admiralty Court.

Chief Justice-Hon. Joseph I. Little.

Judges-Hon. George H. Emerson. Hon. Donald Morison. Chief Clerk and Registrar-D. M. Browning, M.A., Q.C.

OFFICERS OF THE SU-PREME COURT.

Masters—Rt. Hon. Sir W. V. Whiteway, Q.C., Hon. Sir J. S. Winter, Q.C., D. J. Greene, Q.C., G. M. Johnson, Q.C., D.M. Browning, Q.C.

Registrar of Deeds-D. M. Browning, Q.C.

Assistant Clerks—Geo. T. Adams, Wm. J. Carroll, D. F. Kent, S. Butler

Sheriff of Newfoundland— James Carter

Crier and Tipstaff-John Burke

SESSIONS OF THE SU-PREME COURT.

The Winter Session commences at the beginning of the second week in January, and is held for civil business during the second and third weeks in January, the first and second weeks in February and March, and for criminal business during the third week in February.

The Spring Session commences on the first of April, and is held for civil business during the first and second weeks of each of the months of April, May and June, and the fourth week in June, and for criminal trials during the third week in May.

The Fall Session commences on the first of October, and is held for civil business during the first and second weeks of each of the months of October, November and December, and for criminal trials during the third weeks of each of the months of October and November.

SUPREME COURT ON CIRCUIT.

The terms are appointed each year by proclamation of the Governor. The Southern circuit usually extends from Aug. 15th to the 10th Sept., and the Northern from the 15th Sept. to 5th Oct. In addition there is a sitting of the Northern circuit at Harbour Grace & Brigus from the 28th Oct. to the 6th Nov., and in the spring at Harbour Grace during the first week in May. One Judge of the Supreme Court presides on circuit. The circuits are taken by the Judges in