SEVENTH PERIOD

1867-1929

Introductory Note to the Period	637
CLXXIV. Rupert's Land Act (31-32 Victoria, c. 105)	639
CLXXV. The Manitoba Act (33 Victoria, c. 3, Dominion Statute), 1870.	640
CLXXVI. Admission of Rupert's Land and North-Western Territory into the Union, June 23, 1870	644
CLXXVII. Admission of British Columbia into the Union, May 16, 1871	658
CLXXVIII. The British North America Act (34 & 35 Victoria, c. 28), 1871 Parliament of Canada may establish new provinces and provide for the constitution thereof; may alter the limits of provinces, with the consent of their legislatures; may legislate for any territory not included in a province. Limits power of Canadian parliament to legislate for an established province. Confirms acts of the Canadian parliament for the temporary government of Rupert's Land and North-Western Territory (No. CLXXIV and No. CLXXV).	663
CLXXIX. Admission of Prince Edward Island into the Union, June 26, 1873	664
CLXXX. Parliament of Canada Act (38 & 39 Victoria, c. 38), 1875 Repeals Section 18 of B. N. A. Act, 1867 (No. CLXXIII), with regard to the privileges of the Canadian parliament, provides a new section defining those privileges, &c.	668
CLXXXI. Edward Blake on the Office of Governor-General, 1876	669
CLXXXII. Edward Blake on the Prerogative of Mercy, 1876	670
CLXXXIII. Letters Patent Constituting the Office of Governor-General of the Dominion of Canada, 1878	672
CLXXXIV. Instructions to the Governor-General of the Dominion of Canada, 1878	674
CLXXXV. Hicks Beach to Lorne, November 1, 1879 On the appointment of a Canadian representative in London.	675
CLXXXVI. Lorne to Hicks Beach, December 24, 1875	678
CLXXXVII. The British North America Act (49 & 50 Victoria, c. 35), 1886	680
CLXXXVIII. Ripon to Governor-General, June 28, 1895 On treaty-making power.	680
CLXXXIX. The Alberta Act (4-5 Edward VII, c. 3, Dominion Statute), 1905	683
CXC. The Saskatchewan Act, 1905 (4-5 Edward VII, c. 42, Dominion Statute)	687
CXCI. Nature of Imperial Conferences, 1905	691