## A SHORT HISTORY OF THE FACULTY

"Graduate instruction was for many years offered in the various Departments of McGill University without definite organization. The increased demand for such work led the Corporation in 1906 to formally organize and extend the higher teaching work of the University. A Graduate School was, therefore, established, and in it are enrolled all the graduate students in the University who are following advanced courses of study in subjects which in the undergraduate work fall within the scope of the Faculties of Arts and of Applied Science.

The Faculty of the Graduate School consists of the professors of the Faculties of Arts and of Applied Science, but the initiative and administration of the School is placed in the hands of a Committee selected from these Faculties and known as the Committee on Graduate Studies. The Chairman of this Committee is the official head of the Graduate School. The advanced courses of study offered in the Graduate School lead to the degrees of Master of Arts, Master of Science, and Doctor of Philosophy." (Extract from Minutes, March, 1907).

The first Committee, appointed by the Principal,
Sir William Peterson, consisted of the following members:
Dr. F. D. Adams (Chairman), Professor R. J. Durley, Professor
E. Rutherford, Professor A. E. Taylor, Dr. H. M. Tory,
Professor J. Harkness, Professor W. Scott, Professor C. W.
Colby, and Dr. B. J. Harrington.