PRAYERS.

The following Petitions were severally brought up, and laid on the Table:-

By the Honourable Mr. Domville,—Of the Ottawa River Railway Company.

By the Honourable Mr. Kirchhoffer,-Of the Honourable Hugh John Macdonald.

By the Honourable Mr. Gibson,-Of Angus McLean.

By the Honourable Mr. Baird,—Of the Tobique Valley Railway Company.

By the Honourable Mr. Kerr (Cobourg),—Of the Collingwood General Marine Hospital.

Pursuant to the Order of the Day, the following Petitions were severally read:—
Of the Montreal Park and Island Railway Company, praying for the passing of
an Act extending the time for the completion of the railway, and for other purposes.

Of the Manitoba and North-western Railway Company of Canada, praying for the passing of an Act empowering them to construct branch lines, and for other purposes.

Of the Atlantic and North-west Railway Company, praying for the passing of an

Act extending the time for the completion of the railway.

And of the French River Boom Company, Limited, praying for the passing of an Act reducing the capital stock of the company, and extending the term of the company's existence for twenty-one years.

The Honourable Mr. Templeman, from the Committee of Selection appointed to nominate the Senators to serve on the several Standing Committees for the present Session, presented their Report.

Ordered, That it be received, and

The same was then read by the Clerk, and it is as follows:—

THE SENATE.

Committee Room No. 2, Thursday, 17th March, 1904.

The Committee of Selection, appointed to nominate the Senators to serve on the several Standing Committees for the present Session, have the honour to report herewith the following lists of Senators selected by them to serve on each of the said Standing Committees, namely:—

The Joint Committee on the Library of Parliament:

The Honourable the Speaker, and the Honourable Messieurs:—Baker, Béique, Boucherville, de, C.M.G., Drummond, Ferguson, Forget, Godbout, Gowan, C.M.G., Hingston, Sir Wm., Kt., McHugh, Pelletier, Sir Alphonse, K.C.M.G., Poirier, Scott, Thibaudeau (Rigaud), Thibaudeau (de la Vallière), Wood, Young.—18.

The Joint Committee on the Printing of Parliament:-

The Honourable Messieurs:—Aikins, Bernier, Carling, Sir John, K.C.M.G., Cloran, Bowell, Sir Mackenzie, K.C.M.G., Casgrain (de Lanaudière), Church, Dever, Dobson, Domville, Coffey, Ellis, Fiset, Frost, Gibson, Legris, Macdonald (P.E.I.), Mackay (Alma), MacKeen, Merner, Reid, Shehyn, Templeman, Watson.—24.

The Committee on Standing Orders:-

The Honourable Messieurs:—Béique, Carling, Sir John, K.C.M.G., Church, Macdonald (P.E.I.), Macdonald (Victoria), McKay (Truro), Tessier, Yeo, Young.—9.