# Supply

Perhaps there is a sense above all of sadness about the agreement because alternatives existed. Different approaches could have given us jobs, given us reasonable trade relations with the United States, and given us much more prosperity for the future. We have passed those up. We have before us an agreement which will hurt Canadians, will leave Canadians much more vulnerable than they have been, and will seriously restrict the freedom of the country in respect of all our economic policy-making in the future.

It is for that reason that we have moved the amendment, and we oppose the agreement which has been placed before the country.

### Some Hon. Members: Hear, hear!

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): It being 5.45 p.m. it is my duty, pursuant to Standing Order 82(9), to interrupt the proceedings and put forthwith every question necessary to dispose of the supply proceedings now before the House.

Accordingly, the question is on the amendment of Mr. Broadbent. All those in favour of the amendment will please say yea.

# Some Hon. Members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): All those opposed will please say nay.

### Some Hon. Members: Nav.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): In my opinion the nays have it.

And more than five Members having risen:

Epp

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): Call in the Members.

The House divided on the amendment (Mr. Broadbent), which was negatived on the following division:

• (1750)

## (Division No. 283)

### YEAS

#### Members

Allmand Althouse Angus Axworthy Baker Benjamin Berger Blaikie Boudria Broadbent Caccia Copps de Jong Dewar Dingwall

Nipigon) Finestone Foster Frith Fulton Gagliano Garneau (Windsor West) Grondin Guilbault (Saint-Jacques) Harris Heap

Thunder Bay-

Henderson Hopkins Isabelle Jewett (Saint-Henri-Westmount) Kaplan Keeper Killens Langdon MacLellan Malépart Manly Marchi McCurdy

McDonald (Broadview Greenwood) McLaughlin Mitchell Murphy (Trinity) Nunziata Nystrom Orlikow

Andre

Attewell

Beatty

Relsher

Bernier

Bertrand

Bissonnette

(Jonquière)

Blais-Grenier

Blenkarn

Bouchard

Bourgault Bover

Brightwell

Brisco

Browes

Caldwell

Carney

Champagne

Bagot)

Champagne

Chartrand

Clark

Clark

Clinch

Cochrane

Comeau

Cook

Cooper

Corbett

Cossitt

Crombie

Crosbie

Crosby

Crouse

Dantzer

Darling

Daubney

de Cotret

Della Noce

Desiardins

Desrosiers

Dick

(Lac-Saint-Jean)

(Langelier)

(Halifax West)

(Champlain)

(Yellowhead)

Blouin

Bosley

Blackburn

Binns

Blais

Quellet Parry Penner Pépin Prud'homme Riis Robichaud Rodriguez Rompkey Rossi Skelly

NAYS

Members

Domm Dorin Duguay Edwards Ellis Epp (Provencher) Fennell Fontaine Forrestall Fraleigh Fretz Friesen Gagnon Gormley Gottselig Gray (Bonaventure-Îles-dela-Madeleine) Greenaway (Saint-Hyacinthe-Grisé Guilbault (Drummond) Gurbin Halliday Hamelin Hamilton Hardev (Brandon-Souris) Harvey Hees Hicks Hnatyshyn Hockin Holtmann Horner Howie Hudon Jacques James Jardine Jelinek Jepson Johnson (Bonavista-Trinity-(St. John's West) Joncas Jourdenais Kelleher Kempling Kindy King Ladouceur Landry Lanthier La Salle Lawrence

Tardif (Richmond-Wolfe) Tobin Turner (Vancouver Ouadra) Waddell Young-68

Leblanc Lesick Lewis Lopez MacDonald (Kingston and the Islands) MacDougall (Timiskaming) MacKay Mailly Malone Mantha Marin Martin Masse Mayer Mazankowski McCain McCuish McDougall (St. Paul's) McInnes McKenzie McKinnor McKnight McLean McMillan Merrithew Minaker Moore Mulroney Murta Nicholson (Niagara Falls) Nickerson Nowlan Oberle O'Neil Paproski Peterson Plourde Porter Price Ravis Redway Reid Reimer Ricard Roman St. Germain St-Julien Schellenberg (Nanaimo-Alberni) Schellenberger (Wetaskiwin) Scott (Victoria-Haliburton) Scott (Hamilton-Wentworth) Scowen