July 29, 1982

that he does not like it as much as the first report. He reiterates his support in the first letter by the words "as I did the first report" in the second letter. He had not changed his mind too much in those four months.

What the House deserves to know now-I hope we will get some answers from the government-is what will the government do about these recommendations, so many of which are still outstanding. During our further examinations in the Public Accounts Committee, we will be re-examining some of our recommendations. We have a very good follow-up procedure and we will be asking for some of these answers in committee. I think it is fair, however, that the House, having heard these strong words from the minister, should now concur in this motion and in what the minister has said. The government knows from the Treasury Board that the President of the Treasury Board is losing his battle. As I say, I do not know if he is losing it in the Privy Council Office or in cabinet, but it is obvious that the President of the Treasury Board needs the help of the House. I appeal very strongly to members in the House from all sides to give the House the strength of its concurrence in the recommendations of the Public Accounts Committee.

Mr. David Smith (Parliamentary Secretary to President of the Privy Council): Mr. Speaker, it is obvious and regrettable that the official opposition is using the same stalling tactic today that it used yesterday to prevent the House from dealing with Bill C-85, the Canagrex bill, which is a badly needed piece of legislation. To allow the House to deal with this legislation rather than drone on about a two-year-old report, I move, seconded by the hon. member for Lambton-Middlesex (Mr. Ferguson), pursuant to Standing Order 24:

That the House do now proceed to Orders of the Day.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Corbin): Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the said motion?

Some hon. Members: Agreed.

Some hon. Members: No.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Corbin): All those in favour of the motion please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Corbin): All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Corbin): In my opinion the yeas have it.

And more than five members having risen:

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Corbin): Call in the members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Smith), which was agreed to on the following division:

Public Accounts (Division No. 234)

Lefebyre

Loiselle

Lumley

YEAS Messrs.

Appolloni (Mrs.) Axworthy Bachand Baker (Gander-Twillingate) Beauchamp-Niquet (Mrs.) Bégin (Miss) Berger Rlais Blaker Bloomfield Bockstael Bossy Breau Buiold Burghardt Bussières Caccia Campbell (Miss) (South West Nova) Campbell (LaSalle) Chénier Chrétien Collenette Comtois Corriveau Cosgrove Côté (Mrs.) Cousineau Cullen Суг Dawson De Bané Deniger Dingwall Dion Dionne (Chicoutimi) Dionne (Northumberland-Miramichi) Dubois

Dupont

Andre

Baker

Beatty

Blaikie

Bosley

Cardiff

Clarke

Cooper Corbett

Crosby

Darling

Deans

Elzinga

Fennell

Fraser

Friesen

Fulton

Gurbin

Gamble

Fretz

Benjamin

Blenkarn

(Nepean-Carleton)

(Vancouver Ouadra)

(Halifax West)

Dupras Duquet Erola (Mrs.) Ethier Evans Ferguson Fisher Fleming Flis Foster Fox Frith Garant Gauthier Gendron Gimaïel Gourd (Argenteuil-Papineau) Gourd (Lévis) Gray Harquail Henderson Herbert Hervieux-Payette (Mrs.) Hopkins Hudecki Irwin Isabelle Johnston Joyal Kaplan Kelly Killens (Mrs.) Lachance Lajoie Lalonde Landers Lang Lapierre Lapointe (Charlevoix) Lapointe (Beauce) Leduc

MacBain MacGuigan Mackasey MacLaren MacLellan Malépart Maltais Marceau Massé Masters McRae Nicholson (Miss) Olivier Ostiguy Quellet Parent Pelletier Penner Pepin Peterson Pinard Portelance Prud'homme Reid (Kenora-Rainy River) Roberts Robinson (Etobicoke-Lakeshore) Rompkey Rossi Roy Savard Schroder Simmon Smith Tardif Tessier Tobin Tousignant Veillette Watson Whelan Yanakis-124.

NAYS

Messrs.

Halliday Hargrave Hawkes Hovdebo Huntington Jarvis Jelinek Jewett (Miss) Kempling King Kristiansen Kushner La Salle Lewis MacDonald (Miss) Manly Mayer Mazankowski McGrath McKinnon McKnight McLean Mitchell (Mrs.)

Munro (Esquimalt-Saanich) Murphy Neil Nickerson Nowlan Nystrom Oberle Paproski Parker Patterson Reid (St. Catharines) Riis Robinson (Burnaby) Sargeant Schellenberger Scott (Hamilton-Wentworth) Skelly Taylor Thacker Wilson Wise—66.