Division

Mr. More: I was paired. Had I voted I Prud'homme would have voted for the amendment.

Mr. Speaker: Is the house ready for the question on the main motion?

Some hon. Members: Agreed.

Mr. Speaker: Call in the members.

• (6:10 p.m.)

During the calling of the members:

Mr. Diefenbaker: Is the house in session?

Mr. Speaker: The bells are still ringing. I am afraid the house is still not in session.

Mr. Diefenbaker: This is the most scandalous thing that has happened in all the years I have been here. The bells have been ringing for one hour and 17 minutes.

Mr. Starr: For one hour and 17 minutes.

Mr. Diefenbaker: It is a scandalous contempt of parliament.

An hon. Member: The hold-up is for a plane from Montreal.

Following the calling of the members:

The house divided on the main motion (Mr. Sharp) which was agreed to on the following division:

YEAS

Messrs: Hellyer Andras Hopkins Asselin (Richmond-Wolfe) Hymmen Badanai Isabelle Batten Klein Lachance Béchard Laflamme Berger LaMarsh (Miss) Byrne Cadieux (Terrebonne) Lamontagne Langlois (Chicoutimi) Cameron (High Park) Laverdière Cantin LeBlanc (Rimouski) Cashin Leboe Chatwood Legault Chrétien Lessard Clermont Comtois Lind Côté (Dorchester) Côté (Nicolet-Yamaska) Loiselle Macaluso Macdonald (Rosedale) Crossman MacEachen Davis Mackasev Deachman McNulty Drury

McWilliam Émard Matheson Ethier Matte Faulkner Mongrain Fov Gendron Neveu Olson Gray Pearson Greene Pelletier Guay Pepin Habel Harley Pilon [Mr. Smith.]

Richard Rideout (Mrs.) Robichaud Rochon Rock Roxburgh

Ryan Sharp Stanbury Stewart Tardif

Teillet Thomas (Maisonneuve-Rosemont) Tolmie Turner Wahn Walker Watson (Châteauguay-

Huntingdon-Laprairie) Whelan Winters--84

McCutcheon

McIntosh

McKinley

Madill

Mather

Monteith

Muir (Cape Breton

Muir (Lisgar)

Nasserden

Nesbitt

Nowlan

Nugent

Orlikow

Peters

Prittie

Ricard

Saltsman

Schreyer

Simard

Starr

Webb

Winch

Simpson

Southam

Stefanson

Winkler-79.

Rapp Régimbal

Ormiston Pascoe

North and Victoria)

Scott (Victoria (Ont.)

Thomas (Middlesex West)

NAYS

Messrs:

Lewis Aiken Alkenbrack MacEwan MacInnis Allard Ballard (Cape Breton South) MacLean (Queens) Barnett McCleave Beaulieu

Bell (Carleton) Brand Brewin Cameron (Nanaimo-

Cowichan-The Islands) Martin (Timmins) Cantelon

Churchill Clancy Coates Code Crouse Danforth Diefenbaker

Dinsdale Douglas Fane Fawcett Flemming Forbes Forrestall Gauthier Gilbert Godin Grills

Hales Harkness Hees

Horner (Acadia) Horner (Jasper-Edson) Howard Jorgenson

Kindt Knowles

Lambert Langlois (Mégantic)

• (6:20 p.m.)

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion carried.

Mr. Martin (Essex East): I was paired with the hon, member for Queens (Mr. Macquarrie). Had I voted I would have voted for third reading.

Mr. Pennell: I was paired. Had I voted I would have voted for the motion.

Mr. Rynard: I was paired with the hon. member for Brantford (Mr. Brown). Had I voted I would have voted for the motion.

Some hon. Members: Hear, hear.