House of Commons Debates

OFFICIAL REPORT

Speaker: The Honourable L. René Beaudoin

Tuesday, January 10, 1956

THIRD SESSION—TWENTY-SECOND PARLIAMENT—OPENING

The parliament which had been prorogued on the twenty-eighth day of July, 1955, met this day at Ottawa for the dispatch of business.

The house met at three o'clock, the Speaker in the chair.

Mr. Speaker read a communication from the secretary to the Governor General, announcing that His Excellency the Governor General would proceed to the Senate chamber at three o'clock on this day, for the purpose of formally opening the session of the dominion parliament.

A message was delivered by Major C. R. Lamoureux, Gentleman Usher of the Black Rod, as follows:

Mr. Speaker, His Excellency the Governor General desires the immediate attendance of this honourable house in the chamber of the honourable the Senate.

Accordingly, Mr. Speaker with the house went up to the Senate chamber.

And the house being returned to the Commons chamber:

VACANCIES

Mr. Speaker: I have the honour to inform the house that during the recess I received communications notifying me that several vacancies had occurred in the representation, as follows:

Of L. Philippe Picard, Esquire, member for the electoral district of Bellechasse, by resignation.

Of J. Gaspard Boucher, Esquire, member for the electoral district of Restigouche-Madawaska, by decease.

Of Jean-François Pouliot, Esquire, member for the electoral district of Temiscouata, consequent upon his being summoned to the Senate. Of Honourable C. G. Power, member for the electoral district of Quebec South, consequent upon his being summoned to the Senate.

Of David Arnold Croll, Esquire, member for the electoral district of Spadina, consequent upon his being summoned to the Senate.

Of Honourable Alcide Cote, member for the electoral district of St. Jean-Iberville-Napierville, by decease.

Accordingly, I addressed my warrants to the chief electoral officer for the issue of new writs of election for the said electoral districts.

NEW MEMBERS

Mr. Speaker: I have the honour to inform the house that during the recess the Clerk of the House received from the chief electoral officer certificates of the election and return of the following members:

Of Francis Gavan Power, Esquire, for the electoral district of Quebec South.

Of Jean-Paul St. Laurent, Esquire, for the electoral district of Temiscouata.

Of Ovide Laflamme, Esquire, for the electoral district of Bellechasse.

Of Joseph Charles Van Horne, Esquire, for the electoral district of Restigouche-Madawaska.

Of Charles E. Rea, Esquire, for the electoral district of Spadina.

Of J. Armand Menard, Esquire, for the electoral district of St. Jean-Iberville-Napier-ville.

NEW MEMBERS INTRODUCED

Ovide Laflamme, Esquire, member for the electoral district of Bellechasse, introduced by Right Hon. L. S. St. Laurent and Hon. Jean Lesage.

J. Armand Menard, Esquire, member for the electoral district of St. Jean-Iberville-Napierville, introduced by Right Hon. L. S. St. Laurent and Hon. Roch Pinard.