The hour for Private Members' Business expired.

Debate was resumed on the motion of Mr. Olson, seconded by Mr. Sharp,—That Bill C-197, An Act to establish the National Farm Products Marketing Council and to authorize the establishment of national marketing agencies for farm products be now read a second time and referred to the Standing Committee on Agriculture.

And debate continuing;

Mr. Horner, seconded by Mr. Schumacher, moved in amendment thereto,— That all the words after "That" be deleted and the following substituted therefor:

"this House will not proceed upon a measure to authorize the establishment of national marketing agencies for farm products where the establishment of such agencies is in the discretion of the government and the appointment of members to such agencies is in the gift and at the pleasure of the government and where the recommendation of the Governor General, by failing to provide for the necessary appropriation of public revenue, precludes amendment of the measure to provide that the establishment of an agency and the selection of the members thereof shall be by the decision of the majority of the farm producers concerned and determined by the democratic processes of plebiscite and election."

And debate arising thereon;

(Proceedings on Adjournment Motion)

At ten o'clock p.m., the question "That this House do now adjourn" was deemed to have been proposed pursuant to Standing Order 40(1);

After debate the said question was deemed to have been adopted.

Changes in Committee Membership

Notice having been filed with the Clerk of the House pursuant to Standing Order 65(4)(b), membership of Committees was amended as follows:

Mr. Penner for Mr. Anderson on the Standing Committee on External Affairs and National Defence.

Messrs. Smerchanski, Turner (London East) and Cobbe for Messrs. Goode, Marchand (Kamloops-Cariboo) and Breau on the Standing Committee on Fisheries and Forestry.

Mr. Foster for Mr. Whiting on the Standing Committee on National Resources and Public Works.

Messrs. Portelance, Legault and Jerome for Messrs. Guay (St. Boniface), Douglas (Assiniboia) and Leblanc (Laurier) on the Standing Committee on Public Accounts.

Mr. Marceau for Mr. Murphy on the Standing Committee on Justice and Legal Affairs.

Mr. Cantin for Mr. Forget on the Standing Committee on Justice and Legal Affairs.