

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

No: 57

DIFFUSION: RELEASE:

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE JUNE 15, 1978

New Appointments to the Board of Governors of the International Development Research Centre (IDRC)

WRY II BIBLIOTHEQUE

The Secretary of State for External Affairs, The Honourable Don Jamieson, today announced eight new appointments to the 21-member Board of Governors of the International Development Research Centre (IDRC).

Four of the new appointees are Canadian citizens: Dr. Liliane Filion-Laporte (Montreal, Quebec), Allan E. Gotlieb (Ottawa, Ontario), Louis H. Lorrain (Montreal, Quebec), and John B. Stewart (Antigonish, Nova Scotia). Four of the new appointees are from abroad: Allison Ayida (Lagos, Nigeria), Dr. Ray A. Goldberg (Cambridge, Massachusetts), Hadj Mokhtar Louhibi (Algiers, Algeria), and Jamil Nishtar (Rawalpindi, Pakistan).

The Minister also announced the reappointment of three Canadian Governors, Dr. Roger A. Blais (Montreal, Quebec), Norman T. Currie (Toronto, Ontario), and Dr. William C. Winegard (Toronto, Ontario); and two international Governors, the Honourable Rex Nettleford, O. M. (Kingston, Jamaica), and Sir Geoffrey Wilson (London, England).

The International Development Research Centre is a public corporation created by the Parliament of Canada in 1970 to support research designed to adapt science and technology to the needs of developing countries. In accordance with the Act establishing IDRC, Governors are appointed by the Government of Canada. Eleven of the Governors, including the Chairman and Vice Chairman, must be Canadian citizens. It has become the practice to draw the other Governors internationally from among people, especially in developing countries, who have made notable contributions in the field of development.