

CIDA's employees meet at the Canadian Embassy in Port-au-Prince, Haiti. © MAECD-DFATD/Ricardo Arduengo

PARTNERS AND CO-LOCATORS

The Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development (DFATD) provides common services to a variety of organizations. Under the Treasury Board Common Service Policy and the *Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Act*, DFATD is mandated to manage the procurement of goods, services, and real property in support of diplomatic and consular missions.

To execute this mandate, DFATD prioritizes federal departments and agencies (partner departments), followed by Crown corporations, provincial governments, other national governments (designated as co-locators).

Partners, co-locators and DFATD enjoy a mutually beneficial relationship. All contribute to strengthen Canada's presence abroad, respond to emerging situations, reach new markets and generate new international perceptions about Canada. The International Platform Branch (IPB) and the Network abroad support partners and co-locators in the delivery of their programs and the implementation of new initiatives. Examples of this support are described in the sidebars on pages 4, 5 and 6. "The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) would like to thank DFATD and in particular AFR (Client Relations Division) for its support in establishing the new CNSC embedded-staff position at the permanent mission in Vienna. In the aftermath of the nuclear disaster at Fukushima Daiichi Nuclear Power Plant in Japan, it was clear that the CNSC needed enhanced international nuclear safety presence with the UN's nuclear watchdog, the IAEA (International Atomic Energy Agency) located in Vienna. Together, we established this position on relatively short notice and ensured the necessary common services were available to our staff. The CNSC also actively participates in the Interdepartmental Working Group on Common Services and will be engaged in the upcoming negotiations to renew the MOU on common services."

> -Jason K Cameron, Vice-President, Regulatory Affairs Branch and Chief Communications Officer, Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission