REFERENCE PAPERS

INFORMATION DIVISION DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS OTTAWA - CANADA

Dept. of La 1 rel Affairs Min. des Attenes saterieures RETURN TO DEMANTING RETOURNER A LA SHOUTH

No. 104 (Revised January 1972)

doc CA1

1972

January

EA9 EA9 R104 ENG

C

68356

3

5

THE NATIONAL PARKS OF CANADA

The national parks of Canada have been established and maintained by the Federal Government to preserve areas representative of the variety of the country's landscape, flora and fauna for the benefit of Canadians.

The National Parks System began in 1885, when the Federal Government acquired ten square miles of land surrounding the mineral hot springs at Banff, Alberta, and dedicated the land to the people of Canada. Two years later, the Rocky Mountains Park Act was passed, reserving an area of 260 square miles "as a public park and pleasure ground".

By 1911, four more national parks had been established, all in Western Canada. In May of that year, the Dominion Forest Reserves and Parks Act was passed, creating a Commissioner of Dominion Parks and a distinct National Parks Branch to protect, administer and develop the parks. During the next 20 years, nine more national parks were added to the system. The next major development was the passage of the National Parks Act in 1930, an unrestrictive piece of legislation that has remained the basis for national parks administration. The general purpose was set forth as a dedication of the parks to the people of Canada for their benefit, education and enjoyment, to be maintained and made use of so as to leave them unimpaired for the enjoyment of future generations.

Under the Transfer of Resources Agreement of 1930, all public land within the provinces came under the administration of provincial governments. All national parks added to the system since that date have been set up with the co-operation of provincial governments, which made lands available for that purpose. The land, after having been assembled by the province, is transferred with all natural resources to the Federal Government, and an Act of Parliament is passed to establish it as a new national park.

From 1930 to 1963, five national parks were established. Agreements were signed for one new park in 1969, another four in 1970 and one, Pukaskwa National Park in Ontario, in July 1971.

Recognizing the need for more national parks, both to relieve the extensive use of existing parks and to preserve representative samples of the natural landscape for the future, the Federal Government plans to establish from 35 to 55 new parks within the next three decades.