4. The Canadian Delegation to the United Nations Conference on Trade and Employment at Havana was composed as follows:-

Chief Delegate: - E Mr. L.D. Wilgress, Canadian Minister to Switzerland.

Delegates: -

- w Mr. F.A. McGregor, Chief Commissioner, Combines Investigation Act, Department of Justice.
 - Kr. C.P. Hebert, Counsellor Department of External Affairs.
 - Mr. W.F. Bull, Chief Export Division, Department of Trade and Commerce.

: - '1 .

Ċ

- Lr. A. Brown, Assistant Chief Appraiser, Department of National Revenue.
- Mr. Neil Perry, Department of Finance.

<u>Advisers: -</u>

- # Mr. A.E. Richards, Department of Agriculture.
- E Nr. L.E. Couillard, Department of Trade and Commerce.
- # Mr. S.S. Reisman, Department of Finance.

Secretaries:-

Mr. R. Rosenthal, Department of Trade and Commerce.

Mr. Henry, Department of External Affairs.

(x indicates members of the Delegation who participated in the Second Session of the Preparatory Committee at Geneva.)

Er. John Deutsch of the Department of Finance, who had taken the leading part in the work on the Charter of the Canadian Delegation at Geneva, visited Havana for ten days during the month of January and participated in the discussions on Subsidies as a member of the Canadian Delegation.

5. The members of the Canadian Delegation were assigned to cover the various committees and sub-committees of the Conference. There were six main committees, to each of which was allotted a section of the draft Charter, as follows:-

Committee I -	Employment
Committee II-	Economic Development
Committee III-	Commercial Policy
Committee IV-	Restrictive Business Practices
Committee V -	Intergovernmental Commodity
Committee VT-	Agreements

Committee VI~ Organization

Each of these committees in turn set up a number of sub-committees composed usually of from fifteen to eighteen countries. The subcommittees in their turn referred particularly knotty problems to working parties, which usually were composed of from five to eight countries. The ground to be covered by each of the six main committees varied greatly. Thus Committee I was able to finish its work in December and Committees IV and V in January while Committees II, III and VI were in session up to the very last days of the Conference.