The localities of Juries, both in real and personal, have also a reference to the county; and the election of representatives, and the Jurisdiction of the Supreme Courts, is in no way affected by this local arrangement of districts. A township contains no certain definite quantity of lands, nor assumes any prescribed shape, as in Upper-Canada, where it is generally understood to extend nine miles in front, and twelve miles in the rear; nor is it endowed with all those various corporate powers, which the townships of New-England possess, beyond the election of a representative; which privilege is not enjoyed by all. The inhabitants have no other power than that of holding an annual meeting, for the purpose of voting money for the support of their poor.

1st. Halifax County is divided into three districts
—Halifax, Colchester and Pictou, and contains ten
townships—Halifax, Dartmouth, Lawrencetown,
Preston, Truro, Onslow, Londonderry, Pictou,
Egerton and Maxwelton.

2d. Sydney County contains two districts and seven townships—Manchester, Guysborough, Dorchester, Arisaig, St. Mary, Tracadie, St. Andrews.

3d. Cumberland County contains two townships

—Amherst and Wallace.

4th. Hant's County contains six townships—Windsor, Falmouth, Newport, Kempt, Rawdon, and Douglas.

5th. King's County contains four townships—Horton, Cornwallis, Aylesford, Parrsborough.

6th. Lunenburg contains three townships—Lunenburg, New-Dublin, Chester.

The state of the s

7th. Liverpool contains one township—Liverpool,