son that the Canadians had no desire for annexation. They looked upon the Bill as an unwarranted interference with the affairs of an independent country.

Meanwhile, all the preliminaries having been arranged, delegates from the provinces of Canada, Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick (Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland having decided not to come in) met in London on December 4th, 1866, to arrange the final terms of the Act to be submitted to the Imperial Parliament. On February 28th, the British North America Act, 1867, received the royal assent, and July 1st, 1867, was fixed as the day on which the Dominion of Canada should commence its existence.

The British North America Act—the written constitution of Canada—was so comprehensive in its scope that in the fifty years since it was passed the Dominion has asked for or assumed only four or five powers that it could not exercise under the original Act.

Sections Ninety-one and Ninety-two of the Act deal with the division of legislative power between the Dominion on the one hand and the provinces on the other. The Dominion is vested with the sovereign power of the state, that is, to "make laws for the peace, order, and good government of Canada" in relation to all matters not assigned to the provinces; and for greater certainty a list of subjects is enumerated in Section Ninety-one over which the Dominion government has control, while Section Ninety-two specifies the subjects delegated to the