Again abandoned. Colonized by the French in 1721: they called it Isle of France. Taken from France by British ships in 1810. A naval station: exports sugar, cotton, ebony, indigo.

SIERRA LEONE—The basin of the Rokelle on western coast of Africa. Means 'Mountains of the Lion.' A settlement in 1787. So unlealthy that it is called 'The white man's grave.'

ST. HELENA—A rocky island (10 miles by 7) in the South Atlantic.

Discovered by the Portuguese in 1502; occupied by the Dutch till 1651; then taken by the British. Famous as the prison of Napoleon from 1815 to 1821. A station for Indiamen.

Two groups of islets north of Madagascar—the Seychelles and the Amirante Islands: were taken from France in 1794. They have a fine climate, safe harbours, and produce spices. Rodriguéz and the Chagos group also belong to Britain.

NORTH AMERICAN.

THE DOMINION OF CANADA
—Constituted in 1867, by the union
of Quebec (Lower Canada), Ontario
(Upper Canada), Nova Scotia, and
New Brunswick. In 1870 the Hudson
Bay Territory was annexed to the
Dominion. Part of it was organized
as a province, and called Manitoba;
the remainder is known as the NorthWest Territory. British Columbia
was added to the Dominion in 1871,

and Prince Edward Island in 1873.

1. Quebec — Watered by the St. Lawrence. Discovered by Cabot in 1497. Jacques Cartier, a French admiral, sailed up the St. Lawrence in 1535. Taken by the British in 1759. Called Lower Canada from 1791 till 1867. Chief towns, Quebec and Montreal, on the St. Lawrence.

2. Ontario—Separated from Quebec by the river Ot'tawa. The first British settlers were refugees from the States at the time of the Revolutionary War, who preferred to remain under British institutions. The province was called Upper Canada from 1791 till 1867. Chief town, Ottawa, which is also capital of the Dominion.

8. Nova Scotia—A peninsula south of the Gulf of St. Lawrence. Discovered by Cabot in 1497. The French (1605) called the colony Acadia. Called Nova Scotia by Sir William Alexander in 1621. Finally ceded to Britain by the Treaty of Utrecht in 1713. The first permanent British settlement was formed at

Halifax, the capital, in 1749. Incorporated with Nova Scotia is the island of Cape Breton.

4. New Brunswick—On the mainland south of the St. Lawrence, and connected with Nova Scotla by an isthmus. First colonized by the British about 1760; made a separate province in 1784. Capital, Fredericton, on St. John River.

 Manitoba—A rectangular area south of Lake Winnipeg. Organized in 1870. Formerly called Selkirk Settlement and Red River Settlement.

6. The North-West Territory—Formerly the Hudson Bay Company Territory. The Company received Rupert Land from Charles II. in 1670. In 1785 a rival company was established, called The North Fur Company. In 1821 the two companies were united. The whole was ceded to the Dominion of Canada in 1870, the Company receiving 1½ million dollars, retaining liberty to trade, and certain other privileges. Chief station, Fort York.

7. British Columbia — Between the Rocky Mountains and the Pacific. Until 1858 it was a part of the Hudson Bay Territory. Then the discovery of gold attracted crowds of miners, and the country was organized as a British province. It was admitted into the Dominion in 1871. Capital, New Westminster. British Columbia includes Vancouver Island, the capital of which is Victoria.

called overer. nd by Strait. tish in ced inales in cenantal, Horoduc-

alia. -

east of

f the

ment of a penal by the emoved arge isl-Island,

Island, land, to Capital, Colony by the cognized Enjoys

Natal (so iscovered taide the and was ape is the the East. beautiful

COAST-

e 16th cenmouth of
n Guinea.
st and rice.
sland 500
Capital,
y the Pornem called
en by the
Mauritius
of Orange.