Gauthier

Gendron

Point of Order-Mr. Knowles

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Madam Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

Madam Speaker: In my opinion, the nays have it. And more than five members having risen:

Madam Speaker: Call in the members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Nielsen), which was negatived on the following division:

• (1650)

(Division No. 49)

YEAS Messrs

Andre	Friesen	McKinnon
Beatty	Gamble	McKnight
Blenkarn	Gass	McLean
Bosley	Gilchrist	McMillan
Bradley	Greenaway	Mitges
Cardiff	Gurbin	Munro
Carney (Miss)	Gustafson	(Esquimalt-Saanich)
Clark	Halliday	Neil
(Yellowhead)	Hamilton	Nickerson
Clarke	(Qu'Appelle-Moose	Nielsen
(Vancouver Quadra)	Mountain)	Oberle
Cook	Hargrave	Paproski
Cooper	Hawkes	Patterson
Corbett	Hees	Reid
Cossitt	Hnatyshyn	(St. Catharines)
Crombie	Howie	Roche
Crosbie	Huntington	Schellenberger
(St. John's West)	Jelinek	Scott
Crosby	Kempling	(Hamilton-Wentworth)
(Halifax West)	Kilgour	Scott
Crouse	Korchinski	(Victoria-Haliburton)
Dantzer	Lawrence	Shields
Darling	Lewis	Stevens
Dinsdale	MacDonald	Stewart
Domm	(Miss)	Taylor
Ellis	MacKay	Thacker
Elzinga	Malone	Towers
Ерр	Mayer	Vankoughnet
Fennell	Mazankowski	Wilson
Forrestall	McCain	Wise
Fraser	McCuish	Wright
Fretz	McDermid	Yurko-86.
	McKenzie	

NAYS

Messrs.

Althouse	Campbell	Desmarais
Anguish	(Miss)	Dingwall
Appolloni	(South West Nova)	Dionne
(Mrs.)	Chénier	(Chicoutimi)
Axworthy	Collenette	Dionne
Bachand	Comtois	(Northumberland-
Baker	Corbin	Miramichi)
(Gander-Twillingate)	Corriveau	Dubois
Bégin (Miss)	Cosgrove	Duclos
Benjamin	Côté (Mrs.)	Dupont
Berger	Cousineau	Duquet
Blackburn	Cullen	Erola (Mrs.)
Blaikie	Cyr	Evans
Blais	Daudlin	Ferguson
Bloomfield	Dawson	Fleming
Bockstael	Deans	Flis
Bossy	De Bané	Foster
Breau	de Corneille	Francis
Broadbent	de Jong	Frith
Bujold	Demers	Fulton
Russières	Deniger	Garant

Lapointe
(Reques)

Messrs

Genulon	(Deauce)
Gimaïel	LeBlanc
Gingras	Leduc
Gourd	Lefebvre
Gray	Lewycky
Guilbault	Loiselle
Harquail	MacBain
Herbert	MacEachen
Hervieux-Payette	MacGuigan
(Mrs.)	Mackasey
Hopkins	MacLaren
Hovdebo	MacLellan
Hudecki	Malépart
Irwin	Maltais
Isabelle	Manly
Johnston	Massé
Joyal	Masters
Kaplan	McCauley
Keeper	McRae
Kelly	Mitchell
Killens (Mrs.)	(Mrs.)
Knowles	Murphy
Kristiansen	Nicholson
Lachance	(Miss)
Lajoie	Nystrom
Lalonde	Ogle

Pepin Pinard Prud'homme Regan Reid (Kenora-Rainy River) Roberts Robinson (Burnaby) Robinson (Etobicoke-Lakeshore) Rompkey Rose Rossi Roy Sargeant Savard Schroder Smith

Stollery

Tessier Tobin

Tousignant

Veillette

Waddell

Watson Weatherhead Whelan

Yanakis

Young-151.

(1800)

Lamontagne

Landers

Lang Laniel

Lapierre

Lapointe

(Charlevoix)

Madam Speaker: I declare the motion lost. Motion (Mr. Nielsen) negatived.

Ogle Olivier

Orlikow

Ostiguy Ouellet

Parent

Parker

Penner

Madam Speaker: Therefore, the hon. member for Winnipeg North Centre (Mr. Knowles) has the floor.

It being six o'clock, I do now leave the chair until 8 p.m. this

At 6.11 p.m. the House took recess.

AFTER RECESS

The House resumed at 8 p.m.

Hon. Stanley Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre): Madam Speaker, it is interesting the new things that can happen to one no matter how long he stays around this place. This is the first time I have had 151 members of the House vote to hear me speak.

Mr. Herbert: Don't abuse it.

Mr. Knowles: At any rate, Madam Speaker, I rise to press the point of order of which I gave you notice yesterday. It has to do with the final paragraph in the proposed motion on today's Order Paper in the name of the President of the Privy Council (Mr. Pinard). I will not take the time to read that final paragraph for, as members know, it is the one in which provision is made for members not to speak in the rest of the debate on the constitutional package but yet to have their speeches printed in Hansard.