The first delegates of Belgium, Canada, Egypt, France, Greece, Portugal, Switzerland and the United Kingdom were elected Vice-Presidents of the Assembly, to form with the President and the Chairmen of the chief committees the General Committee of the Assembly.

The Assembly, on the proposal of the General Committee, decided to adopt the following agenda:—

- 1. Dispute between the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics and Finland:
 Appeal of the Finnish Government.
- 2. Election of Non-Permanent Members of the Council.
- 3. Budgetary and Administrative Questions: Report of the Fourth Committee.
- 4. The Development of International Co-operation in Economic and Social Affairs: Report of the Special Committee.

This took the place of the agenda which had been prepared in accordance with the rules of procedure and circulated to Member States some time before the outbreak of war. The consideration of all other questions on the original agenda was postponed. It was agreed to defer the general election of the Members of the Permanent Court of International Justice; under the Statute of the Court, the present judges will continue to discharge their duties until their places are filled. The Assembly decided that it would not discuss political questions other than the question placed on its agenda.

The Assembly set up a committee, containing members from all delegations, to be charged with the examination of the fourth item on the agenda. A smaller Special Committee was appointed to consider the Finnish appeal. The Fourth Committee had already met on December 4 and had almost completed its work before the opening of the Assembly. The committees which considered the questions on the agenda were therefore as follows:—

Committee for the Examination of the Report on the Development of International Co-operation in Economic and Social Affairs, with M. Maurice Bourquin (Belgium) as Chairman.

Committee on Budgetary and Administrative Questions (Fourth Committee), with Count Carton de Wiart (Belgium) as Chairman.

Special Committee on the Appeal of the Government of Finland, with M. Caeiro da Matta (Portugal) as Chairman.

The Canadian Delegation, which consisted of Mr. Hume Wrong, Permanent Delegate of Canada to the League of Nations, and Mr. A. V. Rive, Secretary of the Permanent Delegation of Canada to the League of Nations, was represented on the General Committee, the Committee on the Finnish Appeal and the Fourth Committee by Mr. Wrong, and on the Committee on International Co-operation in Economic and Social Affairs by Mr. Rive, who also acted as substitute member of the Fourth Committee.

THE APPEAL OF THE FINNISH GOVERNMENT

The Presentation of the Appeal and the Soviet Response

The appeal of the Finnish Government was presented in a letter addressed to the Secretary-General on December 3 by M. Rudolf Holsti, Permanent Delegate of Finland to the League of Nations. This letter stated that on the morning of November 30 the U.S.S.R., with which Finland had long maintained neighbourly relations and had concluded a Pact of Non-aggression, had attacked Finnish frontier positions and open towns. The Soviet Government had both denounced the Pact of Non-aggression with Finland and had refused a Finnish proposal for mediation by a neutral power. The Finnish Government in