APPENDIX E

Committee Travel

TRAVEL IN CANADA

The Committee visited every Province and the Yukon and Northwest Territories during the course of its study. In each capital city, in addition to holding public hearings, the Committee met with government representatives. The Committee also visited a number of facilities concerned with alternative energy development.

ALBERTA

Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources

Hon. C. Mervin Leitch, Minister G.B. Mellon, Deputy Minister, Energy Resources Thomas Ryley, Senior Analyst

BRITISH COLUMBIA

British Columbia Hydro and Power Authority

Joseph Stauder, Geothermal Energy Division Bob Woodley

Ministry of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources

Robert W. Durie, Assistant Deputy Minister of Petroleum Resources James Hill

Doug Horswill, Director, Policy Development, Energy Resources Branch

Harry Swain, Assistant Deputy Minister of Energy Resources

Ministry of Universities, Science and Communications

R.W. Stewart, Deputy Minister

FEDERAL GOVERNMENT AGENCIES

Energy Research Laboratories, Canada Centre for Mineral and Energy Technology (CANMET), Department of Energy, Mines and Resources, Ottawa

E.J. Anthony, Fluidized-bed Combustion

- R.W. Braaten, Automotive Fuel and Domestic Heating Technology
- T.D. Brown, Manager, Coal Resource and Processing Laboratory
- F.D. Friedrich, Research Scientist, Canadian Combustion Research Laboratory
- V.A. Haw, Acting Director-General, CANMET

- G.K. Lee, Manager, Canadian Combustion Research Laboratory
- B.I. Parsons, Chief, Energy Research Laboratories H. Whaley, Coal Combustion

National Research Council, Montreal Road Laboratories, Ottawa

The Committee's visit to the NRC facilities was combined with a public hearing and the participants are listed in Appendix B.

MANITOBA

Department of Energy and Mines

- M.A. Chochinov, Director, Energy Management Branch
- L.P. Haberman, Director, Conservation and Renewable Energy Branch

Paul E. Jarvis, Deputy Minister

Manitoba Energy Council

William McDonald, Secretary

NEW BRUNSWICK

Hon. Richard Hatfield, Premier

Department of Natural Resources

Robert Watson, Coordinator, Policy Planning John Williamson, Energy Secretariat

Ministry of Finance and Minister Responsible for Energy Policy

Hon. Fernand G. Dubé, Minister

New Brunswick Coal Limited

L.S. Armstrong, President and General Manager

New Brunswick Electric Power Commission

Hon. G.W.N. Cockburn, Q.C., Chairman

NEWFOUNDLAND

Department of Mines and Energy

Hon. Leo D. Barry, Minister Doug Inkster, Director, Hydro-Electric Division John H. McKillop, Deputy Minister Edward Power, Assistant Deputy Minister, Energy

Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro

Victor Young, Chairman