



COMMUNIQUÉ

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS

MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

No.4

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

February 15, 1968

CANADIANS TO ATTEND COMMONWEALTH EDUCATION CONFERENCE

The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the
Honourable Paul Martin, announced today the composition of the
Canadian Delegation to the Forth Commonwealth Education Conference
which will be held in Lagos, Nigeria, from February 26 to March 9,
1968. The Delegation will include representatives of provincial
Departments of Education, the university community and organizations
concerned with various forms of educational co-operation in the
Commonwealth. Its membership is as follows:

Chairman:

Dr. J.F. Leddy, President and Vice-

Chancellor of the University of Windsor.

Vice-Chairmen:

Mr. L.H. Bergstrom, Deputy Minister of

Education for the Province of Saskatchewan.

Dr. J.G. DeGrace, Deputy Minister of

Education for the Province of New Brunswick.

Members:

Dr. T.C. Byrne, Deputy Minister of

Education for the Province of Alberta.

Mr. C.W. Dickson, Associate Deputy Minister of

Education for the Province of Quebec.

Dr. A.G. McCalla, Dean of Graduate Studies,

University of Alberta.

Dr. F.K. Stewart, Secretary-General of the Third Commonwealth Education Conference.

Msgr. J. Garneau, Associate Director of the Association of Universities and Colleges of

Canada