The Conference of Rectors and Principals of Quebec Universities was established in 1963 to co-ordinate activities and plan the use of resources. In 1965, the Federal Government ceased to make direct grants to Quebec universities, instead transferring tax points to the province. Since there was no university grants commission in Quebec, the conference played an advisory role in the allocation of funds.

The government also receives advice on university matters from the Superior Council on Education, established in 1964, which is charged with responsibility at all levels of education. In 1968, it released two important reports - one on teacher-training and the other on the first year of operation of the CEGEPs.

During 1968, the University of Quebec and the Council of Universities were formed. The former will have a number of campuses, the first three located at Montreal, Chicoutimi and Trois Rivières. The Council will act in much the same way as the university grants committees in other provinces. It will advise the Minister on university needs, development, creation of new institutions of higher education, co-ordination of effort and budget. The Minister will be obliged to submit to the Council for its comment all major proposals of development and finance relative to higher education.

Ontario: In 1964, the Ontario government established the first Department of University Affairs in the country; the Minister of Education is also the Minister of University Affairs. The advisory Committee on University Affairs, established in 1961, was reorganized to include laymen and educators. The Committee has been active in developing formulas for operating grants and capital assistance. It acts in an advisory, not an executive, capacity.

The Committee of Presidents of Universities of Ontario was established in 1962. Since that time, it has set up several subcommittees to advise on specific problem areas. These include research and planning, graduate studies, co-ordination of library services, grants formulas, public relations and information, education television, and admissions. The object of the committee is to promote co-operation among the provincially-assisted universities of Ontario, and between these and the government, and generally to work for the improvement of higher education for the people of Ontario.

Brock University (St. Catherines) and Trent University (Peterborough) opened in 1964. The agreement of affiliation between the University of Toronto and York University ended in 1965. Toronto opened three colleges - Scarborough, Erindale and Innis - in 1964. A system of community colleges was launched in 1965. There are at present 20 of these institutions, known as colleges of applied arts and technology.

Manitoba: In 1965, Manitoba established a council on higher education to study and advise on needs in post-secondary education. Its members were named by the university, the affiliated colleges and the Minister of Education. In 1967, when two colleges of the University of Manitoba were elevated to university status, a university grants commission was established to determine operating and capital-grants payments to higher education institutions through a provincial university grants fund. The commission was also charged with studying the higher education needs of the province and the capability of the institutions to meet them. The