Committee was established early in the period of wartime development in August 1943, by the three Governments to provide broad direction to the atomic project as between the countries.

Members of the Combined Policy Committee are:

## For the United States

Dean G. Acheson, Secretary of State Louis Johnson, Secretary of Defense David E. Lilienthal, Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission.

## For the United Kingdom

Sir Oliver S. Franks, Ambassador from the United Kingdom Sir Frederick K. Hoyer Millar, Minister of the British Ministry

## For Canada

C.D. Howe, Minister of Trade and Commerce

. "With the passage of the Atomic Energy Act of 1946, the wartime co-operation between the three Governments had to be adapted not only to considerations of foreign policy and national defense but also in the light of the responsibilities fixed by Congress upon the Commission.

"As was stated by the President in his public statement of July 28, 1949, 'In January 1948 the three Governments agreed upon a modus vivendi which provided for co-operation among the three countries involving exchange of scientific and technical information in certain defined areas and collaboration on matters of raw material supply of common concern.'

"The general framework thus provided has been utilized to develop technical consultations on certain specified topics, which have from time to time included visits by scientists and technicians of each country to the other two."

E. Announcement of American, British, and Canadian Conference to Review Uniform Declassification in Guide (See AEC Press Release No. 202, September 12, 1949).

Washington, September 12 -- "It was announced in Ottawa, London, and Washington today that in the interest of continued uniform application of measures for security of the atomic energy information which they hold in common, representatives of the atomic energy agencies of Canada, the United Kingdom, and the United States will hold their third declassification meeting September 26-28 at the Canadian Atomic Energy Research Establishment at Chalk River, Ontario, Canada.

"The three nations now use uniform Declassification Guides in determining what information arising from their atomic energy research and developmental work may be published and what information is to be kept classified and restricted in circulation. The uniform guides were developed at the first Declassification meeting of the representatives of the three Governments in November 1947,