The McMaster University Monthly.

May

2

valedictory by Mr. Phipps was considered by all as one of the best of the many similar farewells which have been spoken in the old halls. The Principal's address, eloquent as it was earnest, formed a fitting close to the formal programme. The Chancellor of the University referred briefly to the late Principal Bates, whose noble work his successor, Mr. A. L. McCrimmon, M.A., has so ably carried on. The prize-winners and graduates are given below :--

Governor-General's medal--S. H. Arkell. Fourth year-Hiram Calvin Scholarship-H. B. Coumans. Wm. Davies prize-R. E. Guyatt. Third year-S. J. Moore Scholarship-H. McDiarmid and V. A. Ray. Dr. McLay prize-G. Thomas. Second year-D. W. Karn Scholarship-W. C. Pearce. First year-Rev. Dr. Thomas prize -S. J. Moore. Special prizes-Miss Jeanie Hendrie prize in drawing -C. B. Fraser. Mrs. Joseph Codville prize in essay writing-W. E. Bowyer. J. J. McNeill prize in public speaking-A. Gazley. Bartlette gold medal in manual training-V. A. Ray. M. S. Clark silver medal in manual training-E. Scarlett.

Graduating class—Herbert Arkell, Teeswater; Frederick Arms rong, Rangoon, Burmah; William Bowyer, Woodstock; Homer ;--wn, Woodstock; Hiram Coumans, Lockport, N.S.; Horace Elliott, New Sarum; Albert Gazley, Barrie; Richard Guyatt, Binbrook; Lewis Kipp, Gobles; Wilson P. McDonald, Toronto; Frank Phipps, Fullarton; Donald White, Woodstock; Fred. Wellwood, Wingham.

Refreshments were served in the dining-hall at the close of the afternoon meeting. At 8 o'clock the annual Alumni exercises were held in the chapel. The very large audience which listened to the excellent programme of the evening included many former students of the institution. As at the earlier meeting, a large number of visitors were seated with the Faculty upon the platform. Among these were Chancellor Wallace, Prof. M. S. Clark, D. W. Karn, Dr. Bartlette, Wm. Carlyle, P.S.I., J. W. Russell, B.A., Revs. Cowsert, W. J. McKay, R. R. McKay and Roberts. The evening meeting was opened with prayer by Chancellor Wallace, after which there was rendered the following programme :- Piano solo, Leo Riggs; President's address, Rev. W. H. Cline; vocal solo, Wm. Bowyer; paper, "Joel Chandler Harris and Plantation Folklore," Mrs. Geo. Sale; selection, College Quartette; recitation, F. E. Brophy; vocal solo, Miss Edith Johnson; address, "The Longest Reign in British History," John Vichert; clarionet solo, Lester Riggs.

The annual business session of the Alumni Association was held after the public meeting. The following officers were elected for the ensuing year:--President, Rev. C. C. McLaurin; 1st Vice-President, Miss Carrie Holtby; 2nd Vice-President, Mr. S. E. Grigg; Treasurer, Mr. N. S. McKechnie; Secretary, Mr. D. K. Clarke.

384

ł