THE BAPTIST CONVENTION

RF THE

Maritime Provinces.

Organized 1846.

CONSTITUTION.

Adopted 1879 and amended 1885 and 1886.

I.—This Convention shall be known as the Baptist Convention of the Maritime Provinces.

II.—The objects of the Convention shall be to maintain the educational and missionary operations of the body, and to advance the general interests of the denomination.

III.—The membership of the Convention shall be as follows:

1. Each of the Baptist Associations in Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, and Prince Edward Island, shall be entitled to send to any meeting of the Convention, two of its own members as delegates to represent it therein.

2. Each Church connected with any of the above named Associations, and contributing annually towards the objects of the Convention, shall be entitled to send one of its own members to represent it at any meeting of the Convention, and an additional delegate for every twenty dollars contributed to those objects during the year; but no church shall be entitled to send more then five delegates.

3. Every ordained Baptist Minister connected with one of the churches above montioned, either in the relation of pastor or member, shall be a member of the Convention.

4. Any member of any of those churches who shall have contributed towards the objects of the Convention fifty dollars at any one time, previous to the 27th of August, 1879—or one hundred dollars at one time after that date, shall become a life-member of the Convention.

5. The President and Faculty of Acadia College being members of any of the churches above mentioned, shall be ex-officio members of the Convention.

IV.—The officers of the Convention shall consist of a President, two Vice-Presidents, a Treasurer, Secretary, and an Assistant-Secretary; all of whom shall be elected annually from among the members, except the Secretary, who shall be elected triennially.

V.—The Convention shall meet annually, at such place as shall be agreed on by the body, and shall commence its seesion on the first Saturday after the 18th of August, at ten o'clock, a. m.