Nos. 1 and 2, Bill C-244, be now adjourned"—I am reading from page 8041 of *Hansard* for yesterday. That motion was allowed by the Chair, put to the House and voted on. There is no law which says the Chair cannot change its mind. In fact, I have spent a good many years trying to get the Chair to change its mind on a number of points. But I can see Your Honour's point that to move the adjournment of the debate just on the two amendments now before us does seem to be a direction as to what to do next, namely, to go on to other amendments to the same bill. I recognize that the Chair has ruled on various occasions that members who are not of the government do not have the right to make that kind of motion.

I suggest, therefore, that perhaps my hon. friend from Oshawa-Whitby might accept the thinking of the Chair and might be willing—because I believe he still has the floor—to change his motion to read simply that the debate be now adjourned. In other words, I am inclined to agree with the position Your Honour has taken and, if he will accept it, I will give that advice to my hon. friend.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Laniel): Unless hon. members have further comments to make, I would like to add a few observations. First, as to what was said by the hon. member for Crowfoot. Although the hon. member for Oshawa-Whitby did say something about the effect of the motion on certain actions of the House afterward, as far as the Chair is concerned it only has before it a motion for adjournment with no such conditions attached. That point was well taken by the hon. member for Winnipeg North Centre. On the other hand, the House is aware that it is the master of its own rules and, as has happened in the past, hon. members can by unanimous decision temporarily suspend any debate for a limited period of time and then return to the debate which was interrupted. However, this can only be done by unanimous consent, not by a motion of the kind we now have in front of us.

I am sympathetic to the position taken by the hon. member for Winnipeg North Centre. He referred to the motion put forward yesterday by the hon. member for Moose Jaw, accepted by the Chair and voted upon. I must say that the Chair, in making its first observation on the motion which is before us took that circumstance into account and nevertheless came to a decision, after looking at the rules and practices of the House, that the motion before us is not in the proper form. Hon. members will observe at page 382 of Beauchesne's Fourth Edition form No. 40 relating to adjournment of debate. The form reads:

That the debate do now adjourn.

The alternative form reads:

I move the adjournment of the debate.

• (4:40 p.m.)

According to past practices in this House, there has never been a condition attached to a motion to adjourn the debate. The hon. member who has put the motion might accept the suggestion that has been made by the hon. member for Winnipeg North Centre if he so wishes, and in that case the chair could accept the motion. Otherwise, it would have to refuse the motion.

Mr. Broadbent: Mr. Speaker, I thought I had made it clear that the motion was being moved without condi-

Division

tions; there were simply prefatory comments. However, I will accept that suggestion and adopt the revised wording proposed by the hon. member for Winnipeg North Centre. I therefore move, seconded by the hon. member for Fraser Valley West (Mr. Rose):

That the debate be now adjourned.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Laniel): Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the said motion?

Some hon. Members: Agreed.

Some hon. Members: No.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Laniel): All those in favour please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Laniel): All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Laniel): In my opinion the nays have it.

And more than five members having risen:

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Laniel): Call in the members. The House divided on the motion (Mr. Broadbent), which was negatived on the following division:

> YEAS Messrs:

Barnett Benjamin Blackburn Broadbent Burton Dionne Fortin Gauthier Gleave Godin Harding Howard (Skeena) Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre)

Aiken Alexander

Alkenbrack

Allmand

Andras

Badanai

Baldwin

Basford

Béchard

Benson

Beer

Bell

Bigg

Blair

Blouin

Breau

Caccia

Cadieu

Cafik

Buchanan

Laprise Latulippe Lewis MacInnis (Mrs.) Mather Matte Nystrom Peters Rondeau Rowland Saltsman Skoberg Thomson (Battleford-Kindersley)—27.

NAYS Messrs:

> Carter Chrétien Clermont Cobbe Comtois Corriveau Côté (Richelieu) Côté (Longueuil) Crossman Crouse Cullen Cyr Danforth Deakon De Bané Dinsdale Downey Drury Dubé Duquet

8083

lowing S