The British North America Acts, 1867 to 1952, and the other statutes in that behalf: Therefore Her Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate and House of Commons of Canada, enacts as follows:

1. This Act may be cited as The Representation Act, 1952.

2. Eighty-five members of the House of Commons shall be elected for the Province of Ontario, seventy-five for the Province of Quebec, twelve for the Province of Nova Scotia, ten for the Province of New Brunswick, fourteen for the Province of Manitoba, twenty-two for the Province of British Columbia, four for the Province of Prince Edward Island, seventeen for the Province of Saskatchewan, seventeen for the Province of Alberta, seven for the Province of Newfoundland, one for the Yukon Territory and one from the Mackenzie district of the Northwest Territories lying west of the 102nd Meridian of west longitude, thus making a total of two hundred and sixty-five members.

3. The said provinces respectively shall, for the purpose of the election of members to serve in the House of Commons, be divided into electoral districts, which shall be represented as provided in the Schedule.

4. The whole of that part of the Schedule relating to any province shall be read together, and shall, so far as possible, be construed as including the whole of such province in some one or other of the electoral districts therein described, the description of each electoral district being accordingly construed as intended, unless the contrary is expressed, to include the whole of the contained area, whether particularly mentioned or not and to include also any area partly surrounded by the areas expressly described that appears to have been intended to be included; in any doubtful case the Chief Electoral Officer shall finally determine of what electoral district, if any, any area not expressly referred to was intended to form part, and shall, within the first fifteen days of the session of Parliament next following any such determination, report the same, with the reasons therefor, to the Speaker of the House of Commons.

5. Wherever in the Schedule any word or expression is used to denote the name of any territorial division, such word or expression shall, unless the context otherwise requires, be construed as indicating such territorial division as it exists and is bounded at the date of the passing of this Act.

6. Wherever in the Schedule a municipality or place is wrongfully referred to as a city, or a town, or a village, but there is within the territorial limits of the electoral district, in the description of which the reference occurs, a municipality or place of the same name which is a city, or a town, or a village, but is not of the class, namely, city, town or village, as the case may be, specified in the Schedule, the reference shall be taken to be to that municipality or place.

7. As soon as possible after the passing of this Act, the Surveyor General shall, in accordance with the definitions set out in the Schedule, and with the cooperation of the Chief Electoral Officer, prepare and print

- (a) individual maps showing the boundaries of the electoral districts established in each province;
- (b) individual maps of each province showing the boundaries of the electoral districts established therein; and
- (c) individual maps of all cities portions of which are in more than one electoral district.