

PRESS RELEASE

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS
OTTAWA - CANADA

No. 103

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 7, 1955.

The Department of External Affairs announced today that a meeting of the United Kingdom-Canada Continuing Committee on Trade and Economic Affairs would be held in Ottawa on December 8 and 9.

This Committee which was established in 1948 meets from time to time to review the general economic situation and consider matters of common concern to the United Kingdom and Canada in trade and other economic affairs. The Committee meets alternately in London and Ottawa; the last meeting took place in London on June 21 and 22, 1954.

The meeting which begins tomorrow will take place under the chairmanship of the United Kingdom High Commissioner, Sir Archibald Nye. The other United Kingdom members of the Committee will be: Sir Gilbert Laithwaite, Permanent Under-Secretary of State, Commonwealth Relations Office; Sir Frank Lee, Permanent Secretary, Board of Trade; Sir Leslie Rowan, H. M. Treasury; Sir Alan Hitchman, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Food, Agriculture and Fisheries. The Canadian members of the Committee are: Mr. W. F. Bull, Deputy Minister of Trade and Commerce; Mr. J. G. Taggart, Deputy Minister of Agriculture; Mr. A. F. W. Plumptre, Assistant Deputy Minister, Department of Finance; Mr. A. E. Ritchie, Economic Adviser, Department of External Affairs.

Other senior Government officials from both countries will also be present.