are elected by the people. Tasmania, Victoria, and Western Australia are all modelled on the same general plan, and may be regarded as extensions of constitutional monarchy. In all these dominions the British Queen reigns, but not so much over as along with her subjects. The like applies to Cape Colony and Natal.

The German Constitution is less plastic than the English, and the monarch's power more regal. He can declare war, if defensive, and make peace. He represents internationally the empire; may enter into treaties with other nations, and appoints and receives ambassadors. But there are important limitations which he must respect. He has no veto on laws passed by the Federal Council or Bundesrath and the Reichstag or Diet of the Realm; nor can he declare war, if offensive, save with the consent of the former body. At the present time, however, the emperor's will is a large factor, and counts for much in all matters of grave legislative procedure. Besides, his military powers are large. The whole of the land forces is under his immediate orders; and he can erect fortresses in any part of the empire; or, in case of disturbance, put any district in a state of siege.

As the German Empire comprises many kingdoms and States having governments of their own, the Bundesrath or Federal Council exists to weld all these State governments into one for imperial purposes; and the 58 members constituting this Council receive their appointment from the governments to which they respectively belong. The Reichstag is representative directly of the German nation, and is elected by ballot, on the basis of universal suffrage, for the term of three years. It numbers 397 members—about one for every 118,000 of the inhabitants.

The Government of Austria is dual in character-Austro-Hungarianunited politically under the same dynasty, which is a limited monarchy. The monarch, who must be a member of the Roman Catholic Church, exercises legislative authority only with the co-operation and consent of the three representative bodies-the Reichsrath, Reichstag, and Landtage. The Landtage embraces the separate parliaments of the sixteen provinces into which Austria proper is divided. The Reichsrath is also a purely Austrian assembly, legislating for all the Austrian provinces. It is divided into an Upper and a Lower House, answering to the English Houses of Lords and Commons, and has cognizance of all public matters, such as military duty, trade laws, income and expenditure, public loans and conversion of funds -the consent of both chambers, as well as the emperor's sanction, being required to give validity to all bills. Like Austria, Hungary has a separate parliament called the Reichstag, which includes the House of Magnates and the House of Representatives; and affairs common to the two great Houses of this dual empire are settled by delegations from the Upper and Lower Chambers of the Reichsrath and Reichstag respectively, the members of which are appointed for one year and meet alternately at Vienna and F apest.