Miss Mildred V. Deike as Vice-Consul of the United States of America at Toronto, December 17.

Mr. Joseph E. Gross as Vice-Consul of the United States of America at Montreal, December 17. He was previously Vice-Consul at Quebec.

Mr. Leonard E. Thompson as Vice-Consul of the United States of America at Toronto, December 17.

## Provisional recognition was granted to:

Mr. Mauricio Melendez Duke as Honorary Consul of El Salvador at Victoria, December 5. Mr. H. Friser Frederiksen as Acting Honorary Consul of Denmark at Vancouver, December 12.

Mr. Waldo H. Heinrichs, Jr., as Vice-Consul of the United States of America at Toronto, December 12.

#### Departures

Mr. Orsen N. Nielsen, Consul General of the United States of America at Toronto, November 29.

Mr. Cecil M. P. Cross, Consul General of the United States of America at Montreal, November 30. Pending the appointment of a successor, Mr. Albert W. Scott, Consul, is in charge of the Consulate General.

## CANADIAN REPRESENTATION AT INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCES

(The Department of External Affairs, through its International Conferences Section, is responsible for co-ordinating all invitations to International Conferences. It should be noted, however, that the decision as to the participation of the Canadian Government at such Conferences is made by the Secretary of State for External Affairs or, where appropriate, by Cabinet upon the recommendation of the department of government functionally concerned).

# Standing International Bodies on which Canada is Represented

### 1. Canada-United States\*

- 1. International Joint Commission. (1909). Chairman: Gen. A. G. L. McNaughton; Commissioners: J. L. Dansereau and G. Spence.
- 2. International Boundary Commission. (1912). J. E. R. Ross, Dominion Geodesist, Department of Mines and Technical Surveys.
- 3. Permanent Joint Board on Defence. (1940). Canadian Section: Chairman: Gen. A. G. L. McNaughton; Rear-Admiral H. De Wolf, Vice-Chief of the Naval Staff; Maj. Gen. H. A. Sparling, Vice-Chief of the General Staff; Air Vice-Marshal F. R. Miller, Vice-Chief of the Air Staff; R. A. MacKay, Department of External Affairs; Secretary: R.

A. J. Phillips, Department of External Affairs.

- 4. Joint United States-Canada Industrial Mobilization Planning Committee. (1949). Canadian Section: Chairman: C. D. Howe, Minister of Trade and Commerce and Defence Production; S. D. Pierce, Canadian Embassy, Washington.
- 5. International Fisheries Commission (Halibut). (1923). C. R. Clark, Assistant Deputy Minister of Fisheries; C. W. Nickerson, Department of Fisheries.
- 6. International Pacific Salmon Fisheries Commission. (1947). Senator T. Reid; O. Hanson and A. G. Whitmore, Department of Fisheries.

## 2. Canada-United Kingdom

 Canada - United Kingdom Continuing Committee on Trade and Economic Affairs. (1948). W. F. Bull, Deputy Minister of Trade and Commerce; Dr. J. G. Taggart, Deputy Minister of Agriculture; J. J. Deutsch, Department of Finance;

## 3. Commonwealth of Nations

- 1. Commonwealth Shipping Committee.. (1920). L. D. Wilgress, High Commissioner for Canada in the United Kingdom.
- Commonwealth Economic Committee. (1925). F. Hudd, Office of the High Commissioner for Canada in the United Kingdom, London.

of Nations
3. Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux. (1928).
Executing Council Dr. H. J. Athingon

A. F. W. Plumptre, Department of External Affairs. (L. D. Wilgress, High Commissioner for Canada in the United

Kingdom, is Chairman of the Committee

Executive Council. Dr. H. J. Atkinson and Dr. M. I. Timonin, Department of Agriculture; J. G. Robertson, Office of the High Commissioner for Canada in the United Kingdom, London.

4. Commonwealth Telecommunications

when it meets in London).

• For each body the date of its establishment is given in brackets.

**External Affairs**