the sanction of both branches of the Legislature, and was formally assented to by Your Excellency on the 7th May, 1880, from and after which date the Indian Branch became an independent Sub-Department, and the Deputy Superintendent-General had conferred upon him the standing and authority of a Deputy Minister. The Report of the Indian Department, therefore, appears this year in separate form. With this exception, the branches through which the business of the Department of the Interior is now transacted remain the same as last year, and are as follows:—

Government of the North-West Territories.

Government of the District of Keewatin,

Dominion Lands.

Geological Survey.

North-West Mounted Police.

School Lands of Manitoba and the North-West Territory.

The population of Manitoba and the North-West Territories grows apace, as does the area of the public domain taken up by homestead settlers and by that desirable class of purchasers who reside upon and cultivate their lands. The Pembina Mountain, Turtle Mountain, Souris, Little Saskatchewan, Bird Tail Creek, and Prince Albert sections continue to attract the most of the immigration, and so large was the influx in the early portion of last season that it was found necessary to open new land offices in three of the districts named, that is to say, Turtle Mountain, Bird Tail, and Souris.

The inconvenience connected with transactions in real property in those portions of the North-West immediately west of the present boundary of Manitoba, and in the neighbourhood of Prince Albert, arising from the necessity of recording the same in the office of the Registrar for the North-West Territories at Battleferd, has been the subject of repeated protests to the Department by those affected. The complaints arising out of this condition of things were well founded, and in order to obviate further difficulty it was considered expedient to give effect to the 64th section of the North-West Territories Act, 1880. Accordingly, on the 25th November last, an Order-in-Council was passed erecting the Turtle Mountain, Little Saskatchewan, Touchwood Hills, and Prince Albert sections into Registration Districts, and since that time gentlemen have been appointed to act as Registrars therein, as follows, that is to say: For the Turtle Mountain District, Mr. Martin McDonald; for the Little Saskatchewan District, Mr. E. A. Brisebois; and for the Prince Albert District, Mr. A. Sproat.

Urgent representations have been made by the Legislature of Manitoba to the effect that the area of the Province is too circumscribed, and that it would be in the public interest that the same should be extended. The residents of the populous