Division

amendment, which the minister might be prepared to accept.

Mr. MacEachen: Mr. Speaker, I am quite prepared to waive any doubts that may exist as to the regularity of the motion, and have it put. From our point of view, we will accept the motion that the motion be put, waiving any doubts we may have about its regularity.

Some hon. Members: Question.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Laniel): Under those circumstances, the Chair feels that the question can be put. The Chair will put the question if hon. members agree unanimously that it be put.

Some hon. Members: Agreed.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Laniel): All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Laniel): All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Laniel): In my opinion the nays have it.

And more than five members having risen:

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Laniel): Call in the members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Monteith) which was negatived on the following division:

• (10:40 p.m.)

YEAS Messrs:

Horner

Howe

Howard (Skeena)

Knowles (Winnipeg

North Centre)

Knowles (Norfolk-

(Edmonton West)

Haldimand)

Korchinski

Lambert

Laprise

La Salle

Lewis

Latulippe

Lundrigan

MacEwan

MacLean

McCleave

McGrath

McKinley

Macquarrie

McCutcheon

MacInnis (Cape

MacInnis (Mrs.)

Breton-East

Richmond)

Alexander Alkenbrack Baldwin Beaudoin Bell Benjamin Bigg Broadbent Burton Cadieu Coates Comeau Crouse Dinsdale Dionne Douglas (Nanaimo-Cowichan-The Islands) Fairweather Fortin Gilbert Godin Grills Gundlock Hales Harding

[Mr. Baldwin.]

Muir Murta Nesbitt Nystrom Orlikow Peters Ricard Ritchie Rodrigue Rondeau e Rose Rose Rowland

Marshall

Monteith

Mazankowski

Mather

Allmand Anderson Andras Badanai Barrett Béchard Beer Benson Blouin Borrie Boulanger Breau Buchanan Caccia Cafik Chappell Chrétien Clermont Cobbe Comtois Corbin Corriveau Côté (Longueuil) Crossman Cyr Danson Davis Deachman Deakon De Bané Douglas (Assiniboia) Dupras Duquet Forest Forget Foster Francis Gendron Gibson Gillespie Givens Goode Guay (St. Boniface) Guilbault Hellyer Hopkins Howard (Okanagan Boundary) Hymmen Isabelle Jerome Kaplan Lang (Saskatoon-Humboldt)

Messrs:

Ryan Rynard Saltsman Scott Skoberg Southam Stanfield Thomas (Moncton) Thompson (Red Deer) Thomson (Battleford-Kindersley) Yewchuk—72.

NAYS Messrs:

Langlois Laniel LeBlanc (Rimouski) Legault Lessard (LaSalle) Lind Loiselle MacEachen MacGuigan Mackasev McNulty Mahonev Marceau Marchand (Kamloops-Cariboo) Morison Munro Murphy Noël O'Connell Olson Osler Pelletier Penner Pepin Perrault Pringle Reid Robinson Rochon Roy (Timmins) Roy (Laval) Serré Sharp Smith (Northumberland-Miramichi) Smith (Saint-Jean) Stafford Stanbury St. Pierre Tolmie Trudel Turner (London East) Turner (Ottawa-Carleton) Wahn Walker Watson Weatherhead Whelan Whiting-100.

2182