The Committee also agreed that all Commonwealth restrictions on a particular sport including international competition will be lifted when the appropriate non-racial sporting organization in South Africa endorses the unification of that sport, agrees to international competition, and the sport is readmitted to the relevant international governing body.

The Committee was created at the 1987 Vancouver Commonwealth Heads of Government meeting and includes Australia, Canada, Guyana, India, Malaysia, Nigeria, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe. Canada's Secretary of State for External Affairs has chaired the Committee since its inception.

A full transcript of Mrs. McDougall's opening remarks at the closing press conference in New Delhi is attached.

- 30 -

For further information, media representatives may contact:

Media Relations Office External Affairs and International Trade Canada (613) 995-1874