The Economic and Social Council

The Economic and Social Council consists of eighteen Members of the United Nations elected for three-year terms by the Assembly at its regular annual session. Members are eligible for immediate re-election.¹

It has established twelve commissions. The Council elects states as members of the commissions and each state nominates an expert to serve on the commission. They are:—

Economic and Employment Fiscal

Human Rights

Narcotic Drugs
Population

Social
Statistical

Status of Women

Transport and Communications

In addition there have been three commissions established to deal with problems relating to specific areas. They are:

Economic Commission for Asia and the Far East Economic Commission for Europe Economic Commission for Latin America.

The International Children's Emergency Fund

The International Children's Emergency Fund was established by the General Assembly by a resolution of December 11, 1946, to provide assistance to children and adolescents, especially of countries which were victims of aggression. The Fund is administered by an Executive Director under policies established by an Executive Board, in accordance with principles laid down by the Economic and Social Council. The Executive Director is appointed by the Secretary-General of the United Nations. The Executive Board is designated by the General Assembly and consists of the representatives of twenty-five members states and Switzerland which is not a member of the United Nations.

The Trusteeship Council

China, France, the U.S.S.R., the United Kingdom, and the U.S.A. are permanent members of the Trusteeship Council. Australia, Belgium and New Zealand are also permanent members, since they administer trust territories. Any other state which becomes the administrator of a trust territory will become a permanent member of the Trusteeship Council. The Assembly elects to the Trusteeship Council whatever number of other states is required to create an equal balance in the Council between states which administer trust territories and those which do not. These elected members serve for three-year terms and are eligible for immediate re-election.²

The International Court of Justice

The International Court of Justice is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations. It consists of fifteen judges, elected by the General Assembly and the Security Council for nine-year terms. Judges are eligible for immediate re-election.³

¹ Membership of the Economic and Social Council for 1949 is given in Appendix VI, pp. 268-272.

² The membership of the Trusteeship Council in 1949 is given in Appendix VI, p. 270. ³ The membership of the Court in 1949 is given in Appendix VI, p. 271.