ple governs, there can be no conflict, or even diversity of professional interests.

Sec. 10. Dentists are frequent witnesses, and at the same time the best judges, of the impositions perpetrated by quacks; and it is their duty to enlighten and warn the public in regard to them. For this and the many other benefits conferred by the competent, honorable dentists, the profession is entitled to the confidence and respect of the public, who should always discriminate in favor of the true man of science and integrity, and against the empiric and impostor. The public has no right to tax the time and talents of the profession in examinations, prescriptions, or in any way, without proper remuneration.

## OFFICERS FOR 1897-'98.

President, Dr. G. K. Thomson, Halifax; 1st Vice-President, Dr. M. P. Harrington, Bridgewater; 2nd Vice-President, Dr. M. K. Langille, Truro; Secretary, Dr. J. A. Johnson, Parrsboro'; Treasurer, Dr. A. W. Cogswell, Halifax. Executive Committee—Dr. G. K. Thomson, chairman, Halifax; Dr. A. J. McKenna, Wolfville; Dr. A. C. Harding, Yarmouth; Dr. E. N. Payzant, Wolfville; Dr. J. A. Johnson, Secretary, Parrsboro'. Auditors—Dr. A. W. Cogswell, Dr. H. H. Bigelow.

## PROVINCIAL DENTAL BOARD OF NOVA SCOTIA.

Dr. A. C. Cogswell, Halifax, president; Dr. J. A. Merrill, Halifax; Dr. M. P. Harrington, Bridgewater; Dr. A. J. McKenna, Wolfville; Dr. F. H. Parker, New Glasgow; Dr. F. W. Ryan, Windsor; Dr. H. Woodbury, Halifax; Dr. Frank Woodbury, 137 Hollis St., Halifax, Secretary-Registrar.

## NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF DENTAL TECHNICS.

The fifth annual meeting of the National School of Denta Technics will be held at the Palmer House, Chicago, December 29 and 30, of this year. Its programme will entitle it to even greater success than experienced at any time during its previous years of existence. Its leading paper, from Dr. G. V. Black, on "Instrument Nomenclature, with Reference to Instrumentation," will mark a historical period in methods of teaching the manual of cavity preparation.

D. M. CATTELL, Sec.-Treas. Henry W. Morgan, Pres.